Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

All info relating to the Denford StarTurn CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Wed 13 Apr , 2011 19:03 pm

Hello !

I need drivers for denford starturn 4. can anyone send me drivers for this machine PlZZZZZZ ???
:cry:

Thank you

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1813
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Need drivers

Post by Martin » Wed 13 Apr , 2011 20:26 pm

Have you tried any of the dos downloads from the Denford website?
It sounds like you the requiered software may be,
StarTurn very old DOS software (prior to big perspex guard type)

You can download it from the link below.

http://website.denford.ltd.uk/support/9 ... s-software

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers

Post by alphaindustry » Fri 15 Apr , 2011 8:01 am

there is a dos software but what about the drivers, will they work in starturn 4 ?

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 15 Apr , 2011 9:22 am

Can you provide more info and photos ?
As far as I know your Starturn 4 could be very old BBC micro, apple II or IBM or could be Baldor with DOS sw or it could have been upgraded to Mach or anything else.

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers

Post by alphaindustry » Thu 05 May , 2011 7:45 am

Dear Denford Admin!
Attached are the images of my STARTURN 4 as per your instruction.Your good self is requested to resolve my problem at your earliest.I can also provide images of the circuit inside the machine if you require.
Hoping to promote good business relation with your esteemed organization.
Best Regards
Suhail
Attachments
DSC04709.JPG
DSC04709.JPG (149.09 KiB) Viewed 10931 times
DSC04708.JPG
DSC04708.JPG (160.47 KiB) Viewed 10931 times
DSC04707.JPG
DSC04707.JPG (144.9 KiB) Viewed 10931 times
DSC04409.JPG
DSC04409.JPG (108.51 KiB) Viewed 10931 times
DSC04406.JPG
DSC04406.JPG (92.19 KiB) Viewed 10931 times
DSC04408.JPG
DSC04408.JPG (102.28 KiB) Viewed 10931 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Thu 05 May , 2011 9:13 am

I'm 90% certain this machine was controlled by an IBM PC or BBC micro.

Your only hope is that the electronic control card is one of the first LCB 3 boards and this may then run from fanucsld
If it's earlier than that then we don't have the old IBM or BBC software
In that case, you will need to retrofit with newer software like this:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=452

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Post by alphaindustry » Sun 08 May , 2011 19:53 pm

Dear Denford Admin!
I have an unregistered version of fanuc driver "fanucm"I downloaded it from the denford website for Triac VMC milling.Can you plz help me how to register it, or where to get a registered copy this driver?
Its gives the attached message...
Attachments
07052011288.jpg
07052011288.jpg (90.85 KiB) Viewed 10915 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 09 May , 2011 8:49 am

I think you may need a flash code from here (flashes.txt) :
http://website.denford.ltd.uk/support/9 ... s-software

The DOS s/w was made free a few years ago with these flash codes, but I believe the machine itself is enough to allow the s/w to run (if connected)

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Tue 10 May , 2011 10:25 am

Please help me how to register it with flash codes.
I am the beginner of cnc so I need support to start my Denford Starturn 4.
Regards
Kamal

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 10 May , 2011 11:20 am

Copy and paste the flash code into the .OPT file

eg: open fanucm.opt file in notepad and paste the lines like shown:

Code: Select all

NARROWSIMBOX 0
SHORTCUTS 0
UTILS_MENU_1 Dos Access
UTILS_GO_1 dos
EXTCOMM_ENABLE 0
EXTCOMM_ROUTE 1
EXTCOMM_FILE $$DRIP$$.CNC
EXTCOMM_CHECKRATE 200
EXTCOMM_SDEVICE COM1
EXTCOMM_BAUD 9600
EXTCOMM_PARITY 0
EXTCOMM_DATABITS 8
EXTCOMM_STOPBITS 1
EXTCOMM_LF 1
EXTCOMM_ES 1
EXTCOMM_EE 2

FLASH_USER A Registered Denford User.%%This DOS based product is no longer supported.%Visit WWW.DENFORD.COM for details.
FLASH_CODE JBSG-TYX5-9GQQ-EEM9-HTED-B552-N2A2-MJN2-YE

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Tue 10 May , 2011 13:51 pm

Dear Admin!
Sorry to bother you again. The text you have advised to copy and paste was already with 100% same text exist in the “Fanuc.OPT”. Still I replaced it but same message “This DOS based product is no longer supported.” Prompted again and again. Please tell me what should I do.
Best Regard
Kamal

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 10 May , 2011 14:01 pm

That message sounds like the operating system is saying it won't run such old DOS s/w.

You may have to use something like DOSBOX:
Dosbox:
viewtopic.php?t=844

Starturn problems:
viewtopic.php?t=1113

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Wed 11 May , 2011 14:03 pm

Dear Denford Admin!
I have installed DOSBOX and executed fanucl in it as per your instruction, But its still giving the message "This DOS based product is no longer supported" again and again.
Attached are the files(zipped) which are giving this message when they are executed.
You are requested to please register them with the attached flash codes.
Hoping to keep good business relation with you.

Regards
Kamal
Attachments
FANUCSLD.zip
(163.37 KiB) Downloaded 621 times
Flashes.txt
(1.35 KiB) Downloaded 660 times
fanucm.zip
(291.1 KiB) Downloaded 521 times
fanucld.zip
(322.94 KiB) Downloaded 577 times
fanucl.zip
(321.64 KiB) Downloaded 587 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 13 May , 2011 8:28 am

Can you post a photo of the screen message ?
This DOS product is not supported does not seem like a message from our old software - ie, how would it know it's no longer supported ?

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Fri 13 May , 2011 12:31 pm

Dear Admin!
Attached is the image of screen message as required. You are requested to resolve my problem at any cost. For this, you can discuss it with your team.
Actually, I am a student of 10th class. My father gave a reword of Rs 200,000, which is equal to 2325$ because in my examinations I have gained good position. I decided to purchase nothing but your two noble CNC (used) machines “Starturn 4 lathe and Triac VMC milling. Both machines were without software and are in good condition. Before purchasing machines I hoped that I would get the assistance from you.
Several months have been past but still I am not able to run them. In this grave situation I could not face my father due to the wastage of my money while purchasing worthy machine with no use.
You are once again requested to solve my problem or send me some poison but don't say it is impossible for you.
Yours truly,
Attachments
07052011288.jpg
07052011288.jpg (90.85 KiB) Viewed 10859 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 13 May , 2011 13:02 pm

Sorry I didn't see you'd already posted a screenshot !

I'm sorry for not noticing this earlier - the message shown is what is in the flash code:
"A Registered Denford User. This DOS based product is no longer supported. Visit WWW.DENFORD.COM for details." is the user name in fanucm.opt

So, the software is saying it's OK and registered to "A Registered Denford User" - can't you press a key (eg escape or enter) to continue using the software ?

User avatar
Mr Magoo
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 21:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Mr Magoo » Sat 14 May , 2011 1:46 am

Oh dear...
This is a VERY old machine. Over 20 years old!

The software to control this machine is here viewtopic.php?f=46&t=3288 under "StarTurn very old DOS software"
[edit: fixed the link to old s/w] http://website.denford.ltd.uk/support/9 ... s-software

Remember that this machine was built event before Windows95 so you MUST get an old computer that is running DOS6.2 and has a floppy disk drive. The software will NOT run in windows, even in a DOSBOX in windows.

If you can find this computer, then copy the "StarTurn very old DOS software" files onto a floppy disk and run the INSTALL.COM program. This will install the software so you can run the machine.

A diagram of the cable you need to connect the Starturn to an IBM PC can be found here viewtopic.php?f=15&t=172&p=457&hilit=cable#p457

If the software 'Finds' the machine via RS232 it will display the CNC program. If the software does NOT find the machine (because the cable is disconnected or the machine is faulty) it will show something like "Dongle not found" or "Security key not Connected)

I really think that this machine is too old to repair and I think you will have VERY BIG PROBLEMS in trying to get this machine to work.

Good luck!

alphaindustry
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 11 Aug , 2010 14:05 pm

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by alphaindustry » Tue 17 May , 2011 19:01 pm

Dear Sir!
Thanks a lot for providing me such a noble information.
But I want to ask that if I want to run it with mach3, which type of drive do I need to replace it with my existing system to so that I can connect it with my PC?
Regards
Kamal

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 18 May , 2011 9:03 am

You need to ask those questions on the mach forums.
Someone here has converted a starmill to mach:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=452

I think the stepper drives you already have will work well -
Very basically, you just need to get a breakout board (BOB) for Mach and connect up the step+direction pins on the drives and the home switches from the machine.

jpubmail
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 20 Jun , 2011 8:39 am

Re: Need drivers for a Denford Starturn 4

Post by jpubmail » Tue 21 Jun , 2011 9:30 am

dear admin,

im fresher using starturn4. the very same problem.. but i can only understand a bit of your discussion. not well versed yet to simply say it.

im looking for some begginers manual.. with easy to understand details,,

frankly this isn't my stuff. it's for my friend, im just doing an errand.

i would be very grateful.. to be help in any such manner..

Post Reply