Control Triac via serial port
Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo
Control Triac via serial port
Is it possible to control a Triac (2000 model) via a serial port? I actually want to have a program other than VR Milling to control the mill. Currently, I have a robot loading and unloading it and would like to run a number of parts not just the same one over and over. If so, can the entire program be downloaded to the mill and then run or does it have to be sent a block at a time?
- Denford Admin
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3649
- Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
- Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then. - Location: Sunny Brighouse
- Contact:
Re: Control Triac via serial port
Vr milling already has some features which allow it to be integrated with a robot.
eg,
Auxilliary Output Functions.
M62 - Auxiliary Output 1 On.
M63 - Auxiliary Output 2 On.
M64 - Auxiliary Output 1 Off.
M65 - Auxiliary Output 2 Off.
M66 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 1 On. This M Code is executed at the end of a block, ie, after axis movement.
M67 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 2 On. This M Code is executed at the end of a block, ie, after axis movement.
M76 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 1 Off.
M77 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 2 Off.
These codes allow a signal to be sent from the machine controller to a different device, such as a robot, then wait for a return signal instructing that the device has completed its function.
You could append the end of each program with say an M62, then M66 (removing the M30) which could start the robot unload/load cycle, and hold the program up until the robot has finished (it would need an input wiring from the robot control to indicate its satus) , then join all programs together and run it as one.
Let us know if you need more details
eg,
Auxilliary Output Functions.
M62 - Auxiliary Output 1 On.
M63 - Auxiliary Output 2 On.
M64 - Auxiliary Output 1 Off.
M65 - Auxiliary Output 2 Off.
M66 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 1 On. This M Code is executed at the end of a block, ie, after axis movement.
M67 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 2 On. This M Code is executed at the end of a block, ie, after axis movement.
M76 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 1 Off.
M77 - Wait for Auxiliary Output 2 Off.
These codes allow a signal to be sent from the machine controller to a different device, such as a robot, then wait for a return signal instructing that the device has completed its function.
You could append the end of each program with say an M62, then M66 (removing the M30) which could start the robot unload/load cycle, and hold the program up until the robot has finished (it would need an input wiring from the robot control to indicate its satus) , then join all programs together and run it as one.
Let us know if you need more details
Re: Control Triac via serial port
I need more than discrete I/O control (even if I wanted to this wouldn't work since all my I/O is tied up with the tool changer and I don't have an additional I/O card in the control).
I want to be able to selectively choose (via another computer) what program to run in VR Milling and to remotely (via this other computer) start VR Milling. Is this possible?
I want to be able to selectively choose (via another computer) what program to run in VR Milling and to remotely (via this other computer) start VR Milling. Is this possible?
- Denford Admin
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3649
- Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
- Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then. - Location: Sunny Brighouse
- Contact:
Re: Control Triac via serial port
It is possible, but as far as I know, not widely used or tested. See this post:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2453
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2453
Re: Control Triac via serial port
Perfect! That's what I'm looking for. Do you know if there any other CIM commands other than the ones mentioned (MACHINE FROM, STATUS, etc)? Is there a document, part of a manual, or anything else that goes into this feature?
- Denford Admin
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3649
- Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
- Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then. - Location: Sunny Brighouse
- Contact:
Re: Control Triac via serial port
Sorry but it's an undocumented feature we rarely ever used.
I've found another command - $$BLOCK but that's all there appears to be now.
NB - I noticed that the STATUS command only has one $ whereas the other commands use $$ !
I've found another command - $$BLOCK but that's all there appears to be now.
NB - I noticed that the STATUS command only has one $ whereas the other commands use $$ !