All info relating to the Denford ORAC CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

Handy8000
Hardware/Software: CNC Routers and converted Denford Orac

Orac homing

Post by Handy8000 » Thu 24 Aug , 2017 10:39 am

Hi All,

First post :D

I have an orac that has been modernised (original steppers and spindle motor, new stepper drivers , connected via b.o.b to parallel port, and an inverter for the spindle motor) and using linuxcnc as the control software.
I'm a newbie when it comes to cnc lathes but have experience with cnc mills / routers.

Now for the question..
Where on a cnc lathe is the home position?

i know that the orac comes with 2 switches on the (x) cross slide at the inbound end and a plunger at the chuck end (z).
Does it make sense to use these sensor position to home the lathe?
As doing so would mean that if something stops the program half way through a job the work would need to be removed from the chuck to re-home the orac.

And does that position make sense when using cad / cam programs?
cheers.

Lone_Ranger
CNC Expert
CNC Expert

Re: Orac homing

Post by Lone_Ranger » Fri 01 Sep , 2017 22:39 pm

Handy8000 wrote:Hi All,

First post :D

I have an orac that has been modernised (original steppers and spindle motor, new stepper drivers , connected via b.o.b to parallel port, and an inverter for the spindle motor) and using linuxcnc as the control software.
I'm a newbie when it comes to cnc lathes but have experience with cnc mills / routers.

Now for the question..
Where on a cnc lathe is the home position?

i know that the orac comes with 2 switches on the (x) cross slide at the inbound end and a plunger at the chuck end (z).
Does it make sense to use these sensor position to home the lathe?
As doing so would mean that if something stops the program half way through a job the work would need to be removed from the chuck to re-home the orac.

And does that position make sense when using cad / cam programs?
cheers.