MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

All info relating to the Denford Mirac lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
D.MENDEZ
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 03 Apr , 2021 20:24 pm
Hardware/Software: dos triac vmc

MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by D.MENDEZ » Tue 13 Apr , 2021 5:47 am

hello everyone hope to get some help i am upgrading my denford mirac lathe marked in 1997 i chose MASOO G3 for my upgrade so i am having trouble with my ATC i chose 4BITS tool changer could you please guide me if i chose changer Right? Well regardless of whether I chose well this is what is happening, the turret makes the changes only that the 4-bit codes do not seem to be correct and the binary numbers do not match, I made a list of the LEDs that turn on every time I select a tool , I will leave some photos of my list and of the turret that I have also there is a gyro encoder behind the turret.
Attachments
IMG_20210310_201226.jpg
IMG_20210310_201226.jpg (213.69 KiB) Viewed 1733 times
IMG_20190929_201422.jpg
IMG_20190929_201422.jpg (154.07 KiB) Viewed 1733 times
IMG_20210309_181817.jpg
IMG_20210309_181817.jpg (540.57 KiB) Viewed 1733 times
IMG_20210412_210358.jpg
IMG_20210412_210358.jpg (136.4 KiB) Viewed 1733 times

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by Iron-Man » Fri 21 May , 2021 23:09 pm

Hello Mendez !

Did you ever solve your turret problem?

Iron-Man

D.MENDEZ
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 03 Apr , 2021 20:24 pm
Hardware/Software: dos triac vmc

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by D.MENDEZ » Sat 29 May , 2021 0:58 am

Hello man, not yet, the problem is still valid and there is a disadvantage with MASSO that you cannot access the macros to be able to edit, by the way I have seen the great job you did with your novaturn, I also have one even though I don't I have launched.

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by Iron-Man » Sun 30 May , 2021 2:20 am

Have you double checked the absolute encoder for errors? If you can get it to index and lock, this is a good thing. Do you need to convert the logic to get correct tool number?

Also, which version of the turret do you have?

Iron-Man

D.MENDEZ
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 03 Apr , 2021 20:24 pm
Hardware/Software: dos triac vmc

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by D.MENDEZ » Sun 06 Jun , 2021 7:15 am

hello iron man, sorry for taking time to respond, my turret is a DM8 these turrets do not have an encoder for each position, instead they have a rotary selector with 8 signals that go out and go to a diode module, I leave you a photo .Image
Attachments
IMG_20210325_125302.jpg
IMG_20210325_125302.jpg (332.96 KiB) Viewed 1197 times

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by Iron-Man » Fri 11 Jun , 2021 23:27 pm

Can you read the part number on the Grayhill 8 position switch?

Iron-Man

D.MENDEZ
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 03 Apr , 2021 20:24 pm
Hardware/Software: dos triac vmc

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by D.MENDEZ » Tue 15 Jun , 2021 7:02 am

yes, the model is 44A45-01-1-08N

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by Iron-Man » Wed 23 Jun , 2021 1:53 am

I have looked at this a little closer. I think you should try the EMCOturn 120 turret. If you look at the page it shows the exact logic you will need to get the correct functioning of the turret. Now the main problem, I do not think that you can get the correct logic function from the Grayhill switch. It appears to be just a simple switch, no BCD, Gray code etc. Do you have the diode schematic?

From MASSO: EMCOturn 120

Input Signal Sequence Chart
Wire the sensor inputs and assign to MASSO as below:

Tool Changer - Input 1 for Turret signal-1
Tool Changer - Input 2 for Turret signal-2
Tool Changer - Input 3 for Turret signal-3
Tool Changer - Input 4 for Turret signal-4



Input Signal Sequence Chart

The below chart shows the signal sequence as per EMCO documentation. Check that your tool turret provides the signals as shown below to work properly with MASSO.

Image

I can check and see if there are any 8 bit to 4 bit converter logic ICs or Priority Encoder ICs available. If not, you could use a pic micro and simply write the software for a conversion. Something like this:

// Endless loop
IF TOOL 0 TRUE, ie Grayhill (0) HIGH, THEN OUTPUT A = HIGH, OUTPUT B = HIGH, OUTPUT C= HIGH, OUTPUT D =LOW
IF TOOL 1 TRUE, ie Grayhill (1) HIGH, THEN OUTPUT A = HIGH, OUTPUT B = HIGH, OUTPUT C= LOW, OUTPUT D =LOW
IF TOOL 2 TRUE
.
.
.
IF TOOL 7 TRUE, ie Grayhill (7) HIGH, THEN OUTPUT A = LOW, OUTPUT B = HIGH, OUTPUT C= HIGH, OUTPUT D =LOW
// Loop forever

You could name these anything. Using a PIC would allow you to make changes in the future. You would need 8 inputs, 4 outputs.

Hope this helps,

Iron-Man

D.MENDEZ
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 03 Apr , 2021 20:24 pm
Hardware/Software: dos triac vmc

Re: MIRAC UPDATING TO MASSO G3

Post by D.MENDEZ » Wed 23 Jun , 2021 7:15 am

Hello, thanks for answering, I will leave a pdf file of the diode modules and the signals that come out of the turret, I also sent an email to MASSO and this is what they told me:
It seems the problem is being caused by relay timing because relays are mechanical devices and will have small time delays (milliseconds) and this will have a huge impact on logic and in fact with relays it will never work reliably . Also, it is not necessary to have relays in this type of configuration.
.
Can you connect the diode signals to MASSO directly? We hope this removes the timing issue and your tool changer works fine. do this test and keep using MASSO 4 bit tool logic as it is the best choice for your setup let us know how it goes.
Attachments
AC3R-10A.pdf
(47.38 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
AC3R-09A.pdf
(71.32 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

Post Reply