Mirac offset drift

All info relating to the Denford Mirac lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
Mark AW
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 26 Feb , 2013 19:35 pm
Hardware/Software: Mirac 2003 with windows 98 built in computer system, vrturn and quickturn

Mirac offset drift

Post by Mark AW » Sat 05 Oct , 2013 18:11 pm

HI Guys
Anyone offer an ideas , I have been trying to make a small batch of parts , but having problems with the size of the finished parts in "x"the first three came off spot on the next one was out of size , so adjusted the size in the text / coding file , all the offsets set correctly , investigated the pulley / x axis drive the large cog on the axis was a little lose so tighten that reset everything .. re set the coding / text , got it running spot on then back to the drawing board , duff parts again ... the error varies around .10 and .25 of a mil sometime .30.

Any ideas would be a big help... I am running out of brass rod and hair :delirious:

Best regards

Mark

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1806
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Mirac offset drift

Post by Martin » Sat 05 Oct , 2013 19:49 pm

Check & tighten the tab nut if you have any backlash & adjust the jib strip.

Mark AW
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 26 Feb , 2013 19:35 pm
Hardware/Software: Mirac 2003 with windows 98 built in computer system, vrturn and quickturn

Re: Mirac offset drift

Post by Mark AW » Sun 06 Oct , 2013 16:00 pm

HI Martin
Still getting the same results my friend , the x axis travel appears fine , nice and smooth but adjusted it to make sure.

Best regards

Mark

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1806
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Mirac offset drift

Post by Martin » Mon 07 Oct , 2013 6:21 am

Does the error go away if you home the X axis between jobs?

Post Reply