Mirac "Error 128"

All info relating to the Denford Mirac lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
volkan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat 30 Mar , 2013 13:20 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac
Mirac

Mirac "Error 128"

Post by volkan » Fri 05 Apr , 2013 7:16 am

Hello all,

A Mirac without system disk has been donated to our students’ workshop. You can see it below:
Untitled-1.jpg
Untitled-1.jpg (117.42 KiB) Viewed 4254 times
We've created a system disk with DOS 5.0 and added files from Drivers.zip and Mirac.zip in it. However, we get same error with this topic: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3837

Also we've tried all suggestion related with communications issues. We've changed machine's address in mirac.go and macmirac.go to all com1, com2, com3.

You can see configurations of mirac connections below:
Untitled-2.jpg
Untitled-2.jpg (219.25 KiB) Viewed 4254 times
Do you have any about idea our mistake? Or content of mirac.go and macmirac.go?

Best regards,

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1806
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Mirac "Error 128"

Post by Martin » Fri 05 Apr , 2013 9:31 am

Just pulled out the electrical record sheet for this machine which say's, "SOFTWARE UPDATE 20/12/93 V2-16".


The record sheet says it was dispatched with 3.26 so not sure what this refers to.
Attachments
DOC050413.pdf
(78.49 KiB) Downloaded 567 times

volkan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat 30 Mar , 2013 13:20 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac
Mirac

Re: Mirac "Error 128"

Post by volkan » Fri 05 Apr , 2013 11:35 am

3.26 is BIOS ver.

In Mirac.zip file at website;

mirac.go
IBM.RS2 2
$3F8 4 COM1
$3E8 4 MACHINE
DENFORD.KBD 1
18.2 $2F8 3
VGA.CRT 0
MIRAC.APP

and macmirac.go
IBM.RS2 1
$3E8 4 COM1
DENFORD.KBD 1
18.2 $2E8 3
EGA.CRT 0
MIRAC.APP

some questions arises at this point:
$3F8 4 COM1 at first file while $3E8 4 COM1 at second file, however it is address of COM3.
also, VGA.CRT 0 at first file while EGA.CRT 0 at second file, I have EGA in xt286 of our Mirac.
finally I have both desktop tutor and qwerty keyboard, but with this files I define here only one.

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Mirac "Error 128"

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 05 Apr , 2013 14:47 pm

You may not have seen these posts which should help you decide how to use the files:
Different .GO files for DOS FLSTEP Software
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=740

Desk top tutor software on a different number serial port
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=296

Can I operate my DOS machine software from a QWERTY keyboard
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=59

Denford FANUC Milling and Turning Offline and Desk Top Tutor
viewtopic.php?t=1084

How do I change which COM ports my DOS machine software uses
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=58

volkan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat 30 Mar , 2013 13:20 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac
Mirac

Re: Mirac "Error 128"

Post by volkan » Fri 12 Apr , 2013 7:54 am

Mirac's fixed overlay fanuc desktop tutor works properly. I've double checked all ports and its address on XT 286 with it.
No problem seems on system and Mirac DOS software disk.

Also, I've checked fuses on circuits. However, there is no power at any indicator LED on circuit.
Still has "Error <50> Mirac controller slave disconnected." then "Error <128> Software aborted."

Where should I check next?

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Mirac "Error 128"

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 12 Apr , 2013 8:47 am

Sounds like you need to trace the supply with a voltmeter onto the LCB3 board and look for fuses / diodes / thermals / capacitors which may have tripped or blown.
Electrical schematics are here:
viewtopic.php?t=1384
and here:
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=3452

Post Reply