QuickCAM License Cost

A forum for anything to do with QuickCAM 2D Design and LaserCAM 2D Design. Submit advice, examples, problems, feature requests etc..

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
User avatar
GingerNinja54
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Jun , 2021 19:46 pm

QuickCAM License Cost

Post by GingerNinja54 » Thu 16 Sep , 2021 21:01 pm

Can anyone advise how much the license costs for QuickCAM for milling?
Or if there are any of the older versions that are license-free?

I’ve contacted Denford technical and sales with other questions and I guess they aren’t supporting those with older machines, as I’m yet to get any replies (from 3wks ago…)

Thanks
Regards,
GN54

Toolmaker & milling specialist by day...
...bumbling idiot & 'Home-Engineer by weekend & night!
:D

Responses, support and advice is appreciated

Triac VMC (1995) With USB upgrade & VR Milling 5

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by TDIPower » Fri 17 Sep , 2021 17:22 pm

Not 100% on costs but i bought vr turning and i think it was about £250 £300.

I'd get on the phone for a quicker response. There was a post recently from Steve (I think) about transfer of licences from owner to owner. So what to do if you have a licence and sell the machine.

As far as i know the only free stuff is the DOS control stuff.

Pete

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1808
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by Martin » Fri 17 Sep , 2021 18:08 pm

Has the machine been upgrade?

If you post a picture of the control card & EPROM we can guide you through what it was supplied with & what is required.

We still do support the Triac VMC & can supply the software directly if you are in the UK once we know what you need

VR CNC Milling V%
QuickCAM 2D Design
QuickCAM PPRO

User avatar
GingerNinja54
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Jun , 2021 19:46 pm

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by GingerNinja54 » Sun 19 Sep , 2021 17:22 pm

Thanks for replies guys.

Martin - yes.
The machine is running a Eurostep controller card and has been USB upgraded at some point.
I have tried to identify the EPROM but may be missing something, as the boards do not look like any I’ve seen on other posts…

There is a USB lead coming from the MINT card, to a small device, and it looks like it is missing a 8-15v dc power supply, I assume 12v, I’m wondering if this device is common/needed to power the usb to the pc.

The led cycles through, spelling PESto… of PE5to… maybe this means something to someone?!

The parallel port and 3.5” disk drive have been cut off, so I’m hoping to get the usb system working!

This is more general now, as well as being a QuickCAM post, so perhaps would be better in another forum… apologies if so.

I am in Cornwall, UK.
Attachments
F6EBBD8D-057D-410E-93A5-1251A94FA350.jpeg
F6EBBD8D-057D-410E-93A5-1251A94FA350.jpeg (1005.06 KiB) Viewed 258 times
E7659E8A-ABD4-4E0C-9E3B-4ACD30539D38.jpeg
E7659E8A-ABD4-4E0C-9E3B-4ACD30539D38.jpeg (848.9 KiB) Viewed 258 times
4D425BDE-3F5B-4835-9A21-B105D55C2A6F.jpeg
4D425BDE-3F5B-4835-9A21-B105D55C2A6F.jpeg (1.34 MiB) Viewed 258 times
DB6EE5B2-52DC-4961-9A4F-3F6B551EE440.jpeg
DB6EE5B2-52DC-4961-9A4F-3F6B551EE440.jpeg (788.97 KiB) Viewed 258 times
Regards,
GN54

Toolmaker & milling specialist by day...
...bumbling idiot & 'Home-Engineer by weekend & night!
:D

Responses, support and advice is appreciated

Triac VMC (1995) With USB upgrade & VR Milling 5

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1808
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by Martin » Sun 19 Sep , 2021 20:35 pm

That all looks good.

The PCB is a USB isolator & does not require a power supply. It protects the control card if the spindle motor flashes over.

It looks like you will need VR CNC Milling V5 & depending on what you are planning to do or already have design wise, QuicCAM 2D Design & QuickCAM PRO.

It may be worth ringing in to check.

Martin

User avatar
GingerNinja54
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Jun , 2021 19:46 pm

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by GingerNinja54 » Sun 19 Sep , 2021 20:36 pm

It seems the ‘device’ is essentially a surge protector for the PC.
(Unless someone can correct me!)
Tried with a 12v psu, but no difference in connecting.
Have run through the machine types and getting closer…
Looks like it maybe a pc issue now?
Need to make a usb look like the com1 port…? Maybe!

Still have the QuickCAM issue to resolve…
Attachments
8C33F821-7591-424D-8DB5-2A1F66D432BA.jpeg
8C33F821-7591-424D-8DB5-2A1F66D432BA.jpeg (580.72 KiB) Viewed 254 times
Regards,
GN54

Toolmaker & milling specialist by day...
...bumbling idiot & 'Home-Engineer by weekend & night!
:D

Responses, support and advice is appreciated

Triac VMC (1995) With USB upgrade & VR Milling 5

User avatar
GingerNinja54
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Jun , 2021 19:46 pm

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by GingerNinja54 » Mon 20 Sep , 2021 20:30 pm

Thanks Martin, our posts crossed over I think!

I’ve started another, more appropriately located thread in the Machines > Triac section…
It’s ref a spindle issue I’m now facing…
Any suggestions on this, gratefully received!
Regards,
GN54

Toolmaker & milling specialist by day...
...bumbling idiot & 'Home-Engineer by weekend & night!
:D

Responses, support and advice is appreciated

Triac VMC (1995) With USB upgrade & VR Milling 5

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: QuickCAM License Cost

Post by Steve » Fri 24 Sep , 2021 8:39 am

The small red board shown above is a USB Isolator. These have been fitted to Triacs to prevent damage to the control card in the case of the spindle flashing over to earth. If the motor has had a stall and has flashed over internally then some of the earth current will travel to earth through the USB bort and ground through the computer. If a machine has had a spindle stall it can write off the communication through USB so to prevent this happening again we fit the iscolator. It would normally indicate that the spindle motor is probably in need of a refurbishment.

Post Reply