Response time

CNC related queries on software; firmware; DOS; Windows; parameters; programming; error messages etc.

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Response time

Post by vidio1 » Tue 18 Sep , 2018 14:21 pm

I inquired about buying software a couple days ago, what's a typical response time? In hindsight I guess what I should have asked about is actually buying a license.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Tue 18 Sep , 2018 20:19 pm

Did you ask on here or directly to Denford. They only come on here from time to time like us. Phone or email the office directly.

Pete

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Tue 18 Sep , 2018 20:45 pm

Directly. I'll send another request being more specific this time.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Tue 18 Sep , 2018 22:10 pm

Do you know exactly what you want? If it is VR milling or Turning? you will need to supply info from the machine plate but I would also open the cover plate and get the software version off the eprom; they got upgraded over time but it might not be updated on the machine plate. You need that so you can get the correct version.

Pete

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Tue 18 Sep , 2018 22:51 pm

I was looking for info on turning. Attached are the data plate and eprom.
Attachments
WIN_20180918_164740.JPG
WIN_20180918_164740.JPG (601.91 KiB) Viewed 230 times
WIN_20180914_131815.JPG
WIN_20180914_131815.JPG (454.15 KiB) Viewed 230 times

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Thu 20 Sep , 2018 0:30 am

Is there anything else I needed?

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Thu 20 Sep , 2018 23:19 pm

No that's all they should need, the only thing is the 32pin eprom (chip) with the little glass window should have a sticker on it saying the software version. without that it is hard to be sure if it has ever had an update. The sticker is also meant to be there to stop UV getting to the internals of the eprom, When you want to erase what is on it you expose that section to UV. I would put a bit of black tape over it.

I would give them a call.

Pete

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Fri 21 Sep , 2018 0:59 am

Ok, thanks

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Sat 29 Sep , 2018 17:40 pm

I'm still waiting on a response from my Denford US distributor about the price on a license for VR turn after more than a week, seems like it would have been a quick reply. Could anyone give me an approx. cost on a license?

I'm not 100% sure the electronics will function as they should since there doesn't seem to be a trial version of software so I could at least jog the axis. It might be more beneficial for me to choose another motion control program.

I'm leaning toward Centroid Acorn. Does anyone have experience with them?

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Sat 29 Sep , 2018 23:49 pm

Hi, I've only dealt with Denford UK as this is where I am.
I'm not familiar with the Mirac but a machine on the 2000 year I'm not sure if that would be a DOS machine or a Windows/VR machine. IF it is a DOS machine you can get the software free, if a VR machine it would need to be purchased.

Have a look here it may help you http://website.denford.ltd.uk/dos-vinta ... formation/

You could try contacting Denford UK directly too.

Pete

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Mon 01 Oct , 2018 1:18 am

I have considered it's a dos machine. That presents another problem. I haven't seen a Win 98 computer in a very long time and I'm not sure a dos emulator would work.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Mon 01 Oct , 2018 17:17 pm

I currently run my starturn lathe on Win xp through a 'windows' DOS window so you don't need to go back to 98, just remember to disable screen saver and power saving as XP doesn't realise you are working with the PC in DOS.

Does your machine have the 'tutor keyboard'? if so then Im pretty sure that its a DOS controlled unit as I have never seen any run VR software with a tutor keyboard. I don't know If the mirac would run with the current version of VR turning and i don't know if they would still sell an old version

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Mon 01 Oct , 2018 19:33 pm

It did come with a Tutor keyboard, so It may be a Dos machine. I downloaded Dosbox and played with it a bit today. I'd forgot what a pain Dos was. I've all but made my mind up to use Centoid Acorn and do a conversion with modern stepper drives. A license of VR turn is more expensive than a their motion controller board and software, soooo.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Response time

Post by TDIPower » Tue 02 Oct , 2018 19:58 pm

I bit the bullet a while back and bought the Quickturn 2d software but the old DOS control board doesn't like some of the G code commands it produces so given that outlay I'm looking to convert my Starturn over to VR turning, needs the control board swapping out and a few other bits. I have the control board, just need the time! Ill have to buy VR Turning then too. When Im done it should match a Novaturn apart from my main drive motor as it is lower power/rpm than the Nova.

It took me ages to get the starturn up and running due to all those wonderful variations on RS232 lead configurations and DOC configurations.

Have you managed to get it working in DOS then? I'm pretty sure if it runs DOS it won't run VR turning.

Pete

vidio1
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed 12 Sep , 2018 8:56 am

Re: Response time

Post by vidio1 » Tue 02 Oct , 2018 20:55 pm

I haven't tried to get it running under Dos. I downloaded an emulator and the dos turning program to check it out. It's simply not user friendly, too many years of using Windows based programs.

Post Reply