ATC fault

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
jamesgates1000
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 01 Aug , 2015 9:23 am
Hardware/Software: 2001 Cyclone with toolchanger and Fanuc 21i control
Serial number - H00913.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 20A 50Hz 3Ph

1997 Triac VMCwith toolchanger and Fanuc O-M control
Serial number - 70826B.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 30A 50Hz 3Ph

ATC fault

Post by jamesgates1000 » Fri 01 Dec , 2017 18:37 pm

My Denford Triac with Fanuc OM control has developed a Tool changer fault today, when tool changing the carousel goes past the tool pocket requested and keeps spinning until it times out.

I have adjusted the sensor that makes contact with geneva wheel and put multimeter on the block that the sensor is connected to, I get 0 then 5v(or just under) repeatedly as the wheel turns.

If I use the manual ATC rotate buttons on the control, the wheel turns twice and indexes round one position but if I request an T# M6 within a program or MDI it just spins round.

Anyone got any idea what the problem might be?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: ATC fault

Post by Martin » Mon 04 Dec , 2017 17:03 pm

The sensor wire has probably broken.

If you use M22 to drop the carousel then try to index it. You should be able to watch the signal in the diagnostics.

jamesgates1000
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 01 Aug , 2015 9:23 am
Hardware/Software: 2001 Cyclone with toolchanger and Fanuc 21i control
Serial number - H00913.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 20A 50Hz 3Ph

1997 Triac VMCwith toolchanger and Fanuc O-M control
Serial number - 70826B.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 30A 50Hz 3Ph

Re: ATC fault

Post by jamesgates1000 » Tue 05 Dec , 2017 14:19 pm

I have dropped the carousel and indexed it round. Diagniatic parameter 352 changes as it counts the pocketa and associated sensor parts of the ladder light up, sensor part flashes twice as the geneva wheel turns twice. But if i call a tool with m6 t# within a program or mdi the toolchanger moves into position and indexes round, but the diagnostic bit doesnt count and the sensor doesnt register on the ladder.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1685
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: ATC fault

Post by Martin » Thu 07 Dec , 2017 13:44 pm

The 4 core screened cable will have broken in the bend above it. You will need to replace it.

jamesgates1000
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 01 Aug , 2015 9:23 am
Hardware/Software: 2001 Cyclone with toolchanger and Fanuc 21i control
Serial number - H00913.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 20A 50Hz 3Ph

1997 Triac VMCwith toolchanger and Fanuc O-M control
Serial number - 70826B.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 30A 50Hz 3Ph

Re: ATC fault

Post by jamesgates1000 » Wed 13 Dec , 2017 10:54 am

Mine doesn't seem to have a four core screened cable, there is a 3 core that goes to the sensor, a three core that goes to the motor and various cables going to the mircoswitches.

I couldn't see a break anywhere, maybe it is in the back cabinet.

If the cable has a break why does it work with the manual index button?

jamesgates1000
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 01 Aug , 2015 9:23 am
Hardware/Software: 2001 Cyclone with toolchanger and Fanuc 21i control
Serial number - H00913.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 20A 50Hz 3Ph

1997 Triac VMCwith toolchanger and Fanuc O-M control
Serial number - 70826B.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 30A 50Hz 3Ph

Re: ATC fault

Post by jamesgates1000 » Thu 14 Dec , 2017 18:48 pm

Still no joy finding a break in the cable, should this machine have a O9000/O9001 tool change macro or is it programmed into the control.

jamesgates1000
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat 01 Aug , 2015 9:23 am
Hardware/Software: 2001 Cyclone with toolchanger and Fanuc 21i control
Serial number - H00913.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 20A 50Hz 3Ph

1997 Triac VMCwith toolchanger and Fanuc O-M control
Serial number - 70826B.
Voltage 415V F.L.C 30A 50Hz 3Ph

Re: ATC fault

Post by jamesgates1000 » Sat 06 Jan , 2018 10:01 am

Update, this is sorted now. You were right Martin, after much head scratching I decided to strip back the outer on the bend in the cable, inside one if the wire had broken.
This was causing the intermittent fault that was so confusing! Replaced the cable and it now works.

Post Reply