Starmill Setup Help

CNC related queries on software; firmware; DOS; Windows; parameters; programming; error messages etc.

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

Jimmy_Arnott
Hardware/Software: Software: Windows 2-10 including windows server 2008 and 2012, Mac OS 9, 10.1-10.9, MSDOS 4-7, pretty much every version of Ubuntu since 2010, Debian, Mint etc...

Hardware: Anything back to 1982 basically, dot matrix printers, 3D printers, power supply repair, motherboard repair, hard drive repair, case modding, cable making etc...

Not sure if this is what I was supposed to put in this field, more likely to have meant what hardware/software have I used from Denford but ohhh well.

Starmill Setup Help

Post by Jimmy_Arnott » Mon 14 Nov , 2016 10:23 am

Hi, long story reasonably short I am an A level student and my school has an old Starmill CNC milling machine which has been sat on a table for the best part of a decade. (Picture attached)

My question is first does anyone know the pin out for the connector shown in my second attached picture? It is seperated into two connectors, the top of which I would assume is for power seen as it only has 4 pins? Again I would assume it is for GND, +12v -12V and +5v? But I have seen some mentions to 24v on some circuit diagrams I found.

My second question is f I could make a cable to get this machine to function what would it run on? DOS? BBC maybe? And where could I download the software? :mrgreen:
Attachments
Untitled1.png
Sorry about the terrible quality but this is the connector on the back of the machine.
Untitled1.png (2.26 MiB) Viewed 9600 times
Untitled.png
StarMilll
Untitled.png (3.43 MiB) Viewed 9600 times

Andy B
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Hardware/Software: 280 VS lathe, Denford Senior E-type mill, Senior Major Universal Mill

Re: Starmill Setup Help

Post by Andy B » Mon 14 Nov , 2016 14:44 pm

Jimmy,

Welcome to the forum.