mirac pc and microrouter

CNC related queries on software; firmware; DOS; Windows; parameters; programming; error messages etc.

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

littlemoon
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

mirac pc and microrouter

Post by littlemoon » Mon 19 Dec , 2011 16:42 pm

hi,

new to the forums and new to owning a mirac pc and a microrouter. both machines have come with software and the licence. i have never used a cnc machine before and would like some help to get started. what i would like to do is make sure both machines operate ok, is there a download or software that will do this ? . i have tried to transfer the info on the floppy discs to a memory stick and i now have a usb to rs32 lead. cheers and i cant wait to get started.

Denford Admin
Site Admin
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.

Re: mirac pc and microrouter

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 21 Dec , 2011 12:24 pm

I guess the Mirac PC runs DOS software off the floppy drive in the side of the electrical cabinet ?
If all is well with the machine it "should just work" when you power it up.

The microrouter probably runs from VR Milling version 2 installed onto a PC/laptop.
Get the latest version of v2 milling here:
http://www.website.denford.ltd.uk/suppo ... -downloads
Download the latest .zip file and there will be help and manuals on there.

The USB>RS232 lead might work, or it might not - if not then you'll need to look at getting a "real" rs232 port either by using an old PC with one built in or fitting a serial expansion card.

post some photos of what you have, especially the inside of the control box

littlemoon
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Post by littlemoon » Thu 22 Dec , 2011 13:28 pm

thanks for the responce to my questions. here is a bit more info on the machines i have.

the lathe is a mirac pc
ser no 4125 or 412s ?