Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Fri 21 Sep , 2018 7:16 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul , 2011 14:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue 17 Oct , 2006 11:55 am
Posts: 18
Location: Newcastle
Hi
when trying the G92 example from the help files it only does 1 threading pass then just steps in one line at a time for each X value without making a cutting pass. The example looks right so could it be a bug perhaps?
Cheers
Paul

NØØ5Ø GØØ X16.25 Z5.Ø ;
NØØ6Ø G92 X15.6 Z-4Ø.Ø F2.Ø ;
NØØ7Ø X15.2 ;
NØØ8Ø X14.8 ;
NØØ9Ø X14.5 ;
NØ1ØØ X14.2 ;
NØ11Ø X13.9 ;
NØ12Ø X13.9 ;
NØ13Ø X13.546 ;
NØ14Ø X13.546 ;


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul , 2011 20:31 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Wed 27 Aug , 2008 13:27 pm
Posts: 59
Location: chesterfield
G92, X,Y and F values need to be specified in each line. :)


G92 X?? Y?? F??
G92 X?? Y?? F??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul , 2011 9:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 3584
Location: Sunny Brighouse Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
You're right - the example seems to be suggesting G92 is modal - ie, all subsequent lines will carry out a G92 until another G code (eg G0/G1) is programmed

I'll report it as either an error in the example, or a bug in the software.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Tue 15 May , 2018 23:13 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Mon 05 Sep , 2016 12:27 pm
Posts: 40 Hardware/Software: Triac PC (1998, easychange), Mach4, Fusion 360.
NovaTurn NS, VR Turning, Fusion 360
Denford Admin wrote:
You're right - the example seems to be suggesting G92 is modal - ie, all subsequent lines will carry out a G92 until another G code (eg G0/G1) is programmed

I'll report it as either an error in the example, or a bug in the software.



I'm having issues with this at the moment. Did this ever get fixed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul , 2018 17:51 pm 
Offline
CNC Expert
CNC Expert

Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 133
Hi folks, more threading weirdness.

With the DOS control software my novaturn threaded perfectly, in VRTurning it seems to cut the threads compressed in z.

I discovered that for my 1999 novaturn the steps per mm were different from the default machine setup in the latest VRTurning so I had to change them from 160 to 200 (I also changed the steps per F setting). Are the number of encoder pulses different too? (http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=3515)

Also the following block of code runs well on its own (apart from the threads being compressed in Z):-

(THREAD1)
M1
T0101
M06 T0101
G99
G50 S3500
G96 S548 M3
G0 X33.6 Z5.542
G0 Z7.242

G92 X8.938 Z-4.458 F1.5
G92 X8.498 Z-4.458 F1.5
G92 X8.16 Z-4.458 F1.5

G0 X33.6 Z5.542
G28 U0.

But if the above is executed in the whole programme (file attached) after the T0101 tool change and one if not both of the G0 moves the lathe sends the cross slide up to max x and then slowly descends and would crash the tool If i don't stop the programme.

The code is from a fettled Fusion 360 FANUC lathe post.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers
BPM


Attachments:
1001.txt [4.3 KiB]
Downloaded 42 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul , 2018 19:07 pm 
Offline
CNC Expert
CNC Expert

Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 133
bpmsl wrote:
Hi folks, more threading weirdness.

With the DOS control software my novaturn threaded perfectly, in VRTurning it seems to cut the threads compressed in z.

I discovered that for my 1999 novaturn the steps per mm were different from the default machine setup in the latest VRTurning so I had to change them from 160 to 200 (I also changed the steps per F setting). Are the number of encoder pulses different too? (http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=3515)

...

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers
BPM


Further info my Novaturn Encoder is marked as PPR 2000.

The default VR Turning spindle "encoder count" for the novamill in teh latest software is 4000, should I change this to 2000 to match my encoder? Or is there some gearing to consider?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers
BPM


Last edited by bpmsl on Sat 21 Jul , 2018 22:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul , 2018 19:51 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 331 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
Would love to be able to help, I'm yet to get my lathe changed over from DOS to VR, interested in where/how you got the Fusion post processor. I could only find one for milling which works well.

I would give it a go on changing the value though, if it works great, if not just change it back!

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul , 2018 10:37 am 
Offline
CNC Expert
CNC Expert

Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 133
Hi Pete,
I've been working with the post developed here
https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!msg/nottinghack/UHJuNmfZYOU/O314WNt0AQAJ

It's a work in progress. I'll upload a fettled version when I'm happy it's working relatively well.

I'm going to optical tachometer the spindle and see if the speeds are right. I'm beginning to think the reason for the spindle getting warm might be because its been running at double speed so maxing out at 7000 rpm. If so I hope I haven't damaged the bearings.

We will see! Will post an update when I know more :-).

Cheers
Barry M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G92 threading cycle
PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul , 2018 21:01 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 331 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
Cheers for that Barry, I had seen something about the Nottingham hack space a while ago, I think I even dload a file but couldn't get fusion to 'see' the postprocessor file. Really hope you can sort the issue out on yours and the Fusion processor too.

My lath conversion is well on the back burner yet again, I had set myself the task of rebuilding the axles on my Landrover this week, it's gone a bit mad and a chassis is now on order! Mind you that job has been on the back burner for 13yrs!

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.181s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading