Machining Boundary and Toolpaths

Help and support using the 3D and Bitmap Machining CAM packages:
QuickCAM 3D, QuickCAM 3D Pro, QuickCAM 4D (rotary axis CAM)

Moderators: Steve, Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders

Post Reply
paulwils7
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 11 May , 2007 0:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Machining Boundary and Toolpaths

Post by paulwils7 » Thu 24 May , 2007 23:54 pm

Hi guys, quick question! When you set a custom machining boundary in Quickcam 3D / Pro, is this calculated to the edge of the tool or the centre of the tool, ie the tip.

For example;

If I was to set a machining boundary at 211mm, will this end up being 211mm when cut or will it end up being 214mm if I'm using a 6mm ball nose cutter.

Also when quickcam generates the toolpath and you see the toolpath lines across your model, does the line represent the centre of the tool or the edge of the tool.

Cheers
Paul

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3588
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 25 May , 2007 9:20 am

The lines shown are where the centre of the cutter will travel.

The machining boundary edges will take the centre of the tool right to this edge, and insert blending moves just outside it.

See the pic..
Attachments
quickcam-machining-boundary.jpg
quickcam-machining-boundary.jpg (30.57 KiB) Viewed 3537 times

Post Reply