Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Sun 17 Dec , 2017 12:37 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems using QuickCam Pro on site licence.
PostPosted: Wed 09 Oct , 2013 9:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu 17 Jun , 2010 11:03 am
Posts: 17
Hello.

We are having continued problems using QuickCam Pro on our site licence.
When we try to create a cutter path from an STL file we get the error message displayed below.
Our IT department has identified the problem to be that the “.” (full stop) in staffs user names is making your software fail at this point.
As the software is trying to write to a temporary folder the “.” is causing a conflict and not allowing the file to be written.
Our students do not have a “.” (full stop) in their user names and they can use the software without problems but the staff cannot under their own log ins!


Attachments:
QuickCam Pro Fault S.jpg
QuickCam Pro Fault S.jpg [ 25.54 KiB | Viewed 2703 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems using QuickCam Pro on site licence.
PostPosted: Thu 10 Oct , 2013 12:48 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Posts: 1209
Location: Denford UK
This is something that has alway been in the software. A . In a username could be mistaken as a file extension.

Could you please type the exact message you are getting when you try to process a file? Could you also process a file with a different username also with a . In it and type that message too.

We will then have to look at the code and see if we can save the temporary file somewhere else during the process.

This will require a new build and release of the software if it is possible to resolve.

Please note the software has been out around 8 years and this is the first time it has been reported.

I would think it is very unusual to have a . In a user name. Is this something you could change?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problems using QuickCam Pro on site licence.
PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct , 2013 14:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 3573
Location: Sunny Brighouse Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Hi. We've tried saving the file to directory paths with full stops in them, and it appears to work. Might there be a permissions issue with the directory? What happens if the file is saved to a common temp folder?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.140s | 20 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading