F1 D type

Help and support using the 3D and Bitmap Machining CAM packages:
QuickCAM 3D, QuickCAM 3D Pro, QuickCAM 4D (rotary axis CAM)

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
jwepjb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 28 May , 2012 15:19 pm
Hardware/Software: microrouter pro
quickcam pro
quickcam4d

F1 D type

Post by jwepjb » Mon 28 May , 2012 15:30 pm

we are making F1 cars from d type blanks. When drawing them in Pro/desktop and exporting as stl and putting them through quickcam 4d we are getting cutting plans that are different from the model..... see drawings
a problem trying to attach the files..it wont let me send prodesktop .des files or .stl for quickcam 4d
error The extension is not allowed.

jwepjb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 28 May , 2012 15:19 pm
Hardware/Software: microrouter pro
quickcam pro
quickcam4d

Re: F1 D type

Post by jwepjb » Mon 28 May , 2012 15:39 pm

take a look at screen shots and hopefully see the problem
The extension docx is not allowed.
so cannot send a screen shot either

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: F1 D type

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 29 May , 2012 8:50 am

The extension docx is not allowed.
I've just enabled that now.

If you take a screenshot by pressing PrintScreen (hold down ALT to only take a snapshot of the current window)
Then run MSPaint, paste the image and save as a .jpg file

jwepjb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 28 May , 2012 15:19 pm
Hardware/Software: microrouter pro
quickcam pro
quickcam4d

Re: F1 D type

Post by jwepjb » Tue 29 May , 2012 10:00 am

i hope you'll be able to see our problem from these
Attachments
stl.JPG
stl.JPG (36.14 KiB) Viewed 3716 times
stl2.JPG
stl2.JPG (93.42 KiB) Viewed 3716 times
prodesktop.JPG
prodesktop.JPG (38.17 KiB) Viewed 3716 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: F1 D type

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 29 May , 2012 10:42 am

QuickCAM4D will not allow the cutter to go past the centre line of rotation.
I think thats causing you trouble. The centreline in QuickCAM must pass through solid.

For that type of D-type design I'd be tempted to use QuickCAM Pro to machine one side, then edit the program to rotate the car, mirror and do the other side.
There is a tutorial on the QuickCAM 4D CD called "F1 4th Axis D Type Manufacturing guide.pdf"
(it sholud also be located here: C:\Program Files\Denford\QuickCAM4D\Tutorials)

jwepjb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 28 May , 2012 15:19 pm
Hardware/Software: microrouter pro
quickcam pro
quickcam4d

Re: F1 D type

Post by jwepjb » Tue 29 May , 2012 11:26 am

we do know that cutter will not cut below the cntr line
the problem is the 'hole' on the side of the car in the stl file.
so when the rotation reaches that plane it cuts below the drawing line.
we have run several designs and it is not on all drawings or at the same point in the design
sometimes it mirrors on both sides and sometimes it puts a 'hole' in the under side or the car

we will look at the resolution you have proposed, and thanks for your help

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: F1 D type

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 29 May , 2012 11:49 am

I've enabled .stl files now, so attach the design and we'll take a look at it.

jwepjb
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 28 May , 2012 15:19 pm
Hardware/Software: microrouter pro
quickcam pro
quickcam4d

Re: F1 D type

Post by jwepjb » Tue 29 May , 2012 11:52 am

stl file
Attachments
Harry Bates.stl
(210.61 KiB) Downloaded 380 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: F1 D type

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 29 May , 2012 13:45 pm

Thanks,
I can see the problem...we will look into it.

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: F1 D type

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 29 May , 2012 15:30 pm

Hi,
There is something strange going on with the .stl:
If you look (see attached screenshot) at the actual triangles on the side that gets the hole, it is very different to the other side. I can only imagine that's why QuickCAM4D is dropping through on that side...

Have you any options when exporting from proD you can experiment with ?
Maybe there is an update to proD which fixes .stl export problems...
Attachments
HarryBatesProblem.jpg
HarryBatesProblem.jpg (130.25 KiB) Viewed 3706 times

Post Reply