Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connector

Information and questions about Denford CNC Control electronics, general electrical issues, cables, diagrams, stepper motors, drives etc...

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3588
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connector

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 03 Aug , 2009 10:41 am

The 96 way header on a baldor nextstep/nextmove has the step and direction signals to the bottom-board stepper drives:

14C - Z Step
15C - Z Direction
17C - Z Gnd

14B - Y Step
15B - Y Dir
17B - Y Gnd

12A - X Gnd
14A - X Step
15A - X Dir

This document also looks to be correct:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2119
Attachments
NextStep-96way-connector.JPG
A connector we made a long time ago for controlling the bottom board stepper motors. (I'm pretty sure we used an opto isolator switched direct from the parellel port)
NextStep-96way-connector.JPG (78.55 KiB) Viewed 16844 times

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connector

Post by angel-tech » Mon 03 Aug , 2009 12:18 pm

i think it's time to pick up a breakout board.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connector

Post by angel-tech » Mon 10 Aug , 2009 2:18 am

well could that have been any easier, mega thanks guys.

I wired in a breakout board to the correct pins using some multiway sockets from a salvaged photocopier (which is a good source for steppers). After a few odd reactions, no y axis, y on the z axis and only one direction. I looked at the mach 3 video tutorial and it was obvious what the problem was, the port settings for the step and direction pins did not match the breakout board.
A couple of settings later and perfect control.

£13.80 and some wires, a cost effective solution. :)

Next step (pun intended), is to wire in the limit switches and look at the spindle control.

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:31 am

anyone have a picture of the orientation of the 96 pin junction on the board? which side is top, which are rows a/b/c.

having difficulty testing a micromill after removing the proprietary top board. the servos all hiss, so it seems the board is ok but not getting any feedback from them with the parallel cable hooked up and repinned.

all fuses are ok, the end mill was working when i went to look at it before buying it but after moving it to the shop the end mill now doesn't function either. about to buy a controller but i want to see if anything works on it at all before dumping more money into it. have the original software but was unaware of the dongle issue so now i'm stuck with it.

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3588
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 11:54 am

Best described by a photo:
Attachments
96-way-header-pins.JPG
96-way-header-pins.JPG (280.27 KiB) Viewed 15087 times

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 14:04 pm

perfect thanks!

unfortunately that is how i had it wired so either the board is cooked or the machine driving it is having issues. i do know the board is powering up fine as with the fuse removed the servos stop making the hissing noise and the LED numeric indicator on the add-on board works fine.

guess i will start with some simple input and output tests on the board to see if it is actually pulling up properly.

it is an issue 2 board but i doubt that makes much difference.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 17:46 pm

so the steppers work ok, but hiss, is that correct.

It's not uncommon on that board for the steppers to make noises when at rest

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 19:54 pm

still trying to set up a communication CAM program to work the steppers. so far i haven't gotten any feedback from the motors but just started working on a program to test the machine with (turboCNC). not sure if i just don't have the I/O ports configured properly or not, still working through trying to decipher how to set it up to talk to the machine through the parallel port. i can see the motors doing something when turning the machine on and then the noise can be heard from each induvidually so i'm betting they are ready for work but just need to work out the finer details between PC machine + CNC machine or simple software setup.

the spindle works again, just need to actually see if the steppers work or why not.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 21:16 pm

i'm curious why you're going down the turbocnc route rather than mach3

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 22:02 pm

mainly it is just as a test function before worrying about which software will suit the jobs best, if this thing even works. who knows, it may need a complete overhaul for all i know and i did not get it at a garage sale price so... not looking to dump a ton of money into it before even knowing if it works, with my luck it's a box with a running spindle and that's about it. it looks like everything is working, but so far i haven't had any luck whatsoever getting the servos do anything besides lock.

the overhead light works
the key works
the spindle speed control and motor works
the servos hum
shutdown control works
power switch seems to work(LED active when on, not when off)
the display on the board works telling me the boards are getting power, and the motors locking tell me the outputs are working to some degree

so i can only guess it is still an issue in wiring the electronics. i've tried every setup i could in TurboCNC but nothing. the Tx test module i put on the serial cable shows the LPT1 PC port is powered up(matched port settings in TurboCNC) but it's not indicating any other signals when using TurboCNC so it may just be as simple as this PC not working the DOS based program. i'm looking into other demo mode software to see if i can get anything out of it before committing to it.

it did come with an PCIlab control card and RS232 cables as well(PCL-725), but i'm worried about frying things without guidance in using the board on the machine. http://www.advantech.com/products/PCL-7 ... C15CC.aspx
did not read its user manual, since it sais "inputs" only in the descriptions i don't even know if it's worth reading up on since i need outputs, not inputs, and specific outputs at that.

suggestions are appreciated.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 22:42 pm

it sounds like the steppers are powering up, and that board is pretty robust.
Mach3 is a lot easier to use and it's free to download and set up, you can even run programs up to 500 lines without a license.
I'll pm you my number if you need any help.

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 23:02 pm

for some reason i didn't realize Mach3 had a demo version so i will try that first before bothering you with issues and hopefully it responds versus the DOS operated TurboCNC. :)

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Tue 27 Nov , 2012 23:17 pm

you can literally break open a parallel lead and connect directly to the 96 way header. Pins 2 and 3 for x step and direction, 4 and 5 y axis, 6 and 7 z axis, and away you go. Steps are 200, velocity 1500, accelleration 150.

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Wed 28 Nov , 2012 2:06 am

good news the steppers all work, just having issues with the port setup. i have it wired exactly like that but the axis are not responding correctly at the moment so trying to work through some more settings. thanks for your help so far.

X axis only works one direction
Y axis works ok
Z axis isn't present and is functioning under A axis, sometimes working along with Y axis at the same time

i suppose a breakout board would come in handy now as it may just be picking up interference

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Wed 28 Nov , 2012 2:12 am

make sure you set the motor outputs correctly, and set the native units to metric. Save settings and restart mach.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by angel-tech » Wed 28 Nov , 2012 2:20 am

have you got the right pins.

Rotary Evolution
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 27 Nov , 2012 3:27 am
Hardware/Software: Micromill

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Rotary Evolution » Wed 28 Nov , 2012 2:47 am

96 way -> DB25 parallel cable(correct cable straight through, checked with a DVOM. also made sure the pins matched the correct assignment, not reading female and pinning as male. more or less the numbers match the pin# stamps inside the connector)


14C - Z Step -> pin 6
15C - Z Direction -> pin 7
17C - Z Gnd ->pin 25

14B - Y Step -> pin 4
15B - Y Dir -> pin 5
17B - Y Gnd -> pin 24

12A - X Gnd -> pin 23
14A - X Step -> pin 2
15A - X Dir -> pin 3

Ben L
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue 23 Aug , 2016 23:13 pm
Hardware/Software: Novamill - Mach 3

Re: Baldor Nextstep Step and Direction pins - 96way connecto

Post by Ben L » Wed 29 Mar , 2017 22:59 pm

Digging up an old thread! :)

I have a novamill converted a while back. I dont have any of the grounds connected as Rotary E states above.

I do however have some noise issues on the steppers and i'm wondering if this may be the cause.

Post Reply