Microrouter - Board faults

Information and questions about Denford CNC Control electronics, general electrical issues, cables, diagrams, stepper motors, drives etc...

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
Steve C
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 31 Oct , 2020 12:57 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Micro Router

Microrouter - Board faults

Post by Steve C » Sat 31 Oct , 2020 13:31 pm

"Help please"
I bought my Micro Router quite a while ago with the intention of learning to run it but unfortunately taken ill. After a while I plugged it in and while it was standing there powered up, I heard a 'POP' from the cabinet and the spindle motor started on its own and a bit of smoke came from the cabinet.
Is there someone that could diagnose the problem and test the boards maybe local to Dover, Kent to get me up and running please.
Also, I have searched and found a couple of vague tutorials but wondered if anyone can recommend any to get me started please.
I have attached some photo info.
Many thanks.
Attachments
123436275_409205686760357_1858461849718219757_n.jpg
123436275_409205686760357_1858461849718219757_n.jpg (618.25 KiB) Viewed 578 times
123136864_362916131586453_6629855576549458230_n.jpg
123136864_362916131586453_6629855576549458230_n.jpg (681.81 KiB) Viewed 578 times
123506356_444481029856633_6431651767087279847_n.jpg
123506356_444481029856633_6431651767087279847_n.jpg (207.03 KiB) Viewed 578 times
123351771_789537321778918_8058612413465895842_n.jpg
123351771_789537321778918_8058612413465895842_n.jpg (455.33 KiB) Viewed 578 times

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Microrouter - Board faults

Post by TDIPower » Sun 01 Nov , 2020 22:47 pm

I would be looking at all the components for evidence of the pop. Hopefully Steve or Martin will be able to say where to look in more detail. It could be on the speed controller rather than the upper board.

If you are OK with a meter I would pull the plugs from the lower board and check the output from the 24v PSU. The drawings are on the forum so you should be able to trace through the PSU side of things.

The speed controller for the spindle needs a feed from the upper control board so if you were to disconnect the cables that do that you should be able to see if the Sprint controller (I think this is the same one... its the one called starturn sprint speed http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=4778) has failed hot.

Pete

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Microrouter - Board faults

Post by TDIPower » Sun 01 Nov , 2020 22:53 pm

Just an addition, you need to work out what has failed, I know the control boards are prohibitively expensive new, so second hand would be your only option if so, unless you could go down to component replacement. No idea what the cost of the speed controllers are. If it is main boards, it may be a case of converting to mach 3.

I normally offer to come and see folks BUT Dover is a bit far to nip out for the day on the bike from Barnsley. It is has been a few years since i was down there, I was coming back from Sardinia on the bike actually!

Pete

Steve C
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 31 Oct , 2020 12:57 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Micro Router

Re: Microrouter - Board faults

Post by Steve C » Mon 02 Nov , 2020 18:08 pm

Hi Pete, Many thanks for the reply. My Brother in law is an electronics wizard but he is in Essex, so is it possible for him to check the system should I send the complete cabinet to him? When I got the machine, it came with component layout identification drawings which sadly went missing during our workshop move. Would anyone have or know where I can get copies of these and also where or if I can get replacement boards. Many Thanks.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Microrouter - Board faults

Post by TDIPower » Mon 02 Nov , 2020 21:46 pm

you should be able to find the drawings on the forum http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewforum.php?f=37

you will need to do a bit of checking as to which is which, machines got upgraded over time and this wasn't always recorded on the plate. Yours is visually older in that the electronics are in the separate box.

It is always easier to work on something if you have it all in front of you. But thats will be a cost shipping it about.

Replacement boards are really expensive (new) as in more than you will have paid for the machine. If there is a fault that can't be fixed your best hope is a second hand board from someone who has converted to mach3. The same control boards (as in the ones with all the multi plugs) are used across the range of machines, Mills, Lathes, Routers.

It needs some investigation with a meter 1st.

Pete

Steve C
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 31 Oct , 2020 12:57 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Micro Router

Re: Microrouter - Board faults

Post by Steve C » Mon 02 Nov , 2020 23:46 pm

Thanks pete will look at my options regards steve

Post Reply