Novamill rs232 connection fault

Information and questions about Denford CNC Control electronics, general electrical issues, cables, diagrams, stepper motors, drives etc...

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Fri 25 May , 2018 21:07 pm

So I was unlucky enough to be cought out with an odd fault in the middle of a program. The machine stopped traversing but the readout was fluctuating around 370/390mm on the X. I ruled out the computer as the source of the fault with 2 other laptops both known good. Now the machine will not connect where as previously I could at least home the machine and get 30 seconds of machining before the fault 're-emerges.
I've checked the cable for continuity and shorts and it's ok.
Any thoughts of what it could be?

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Fri 25 May , 2018 21:16 pm

Forgot to specify. Its a 1996 Novamill, serial no. 60521A/2 (smartstep 3 control)

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by Martin » Mon 28 May , 2018 13:47 pm

Is the seven segment LED on the Smartstep lit?

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Wed 30 May , 2018 22:05 pm

yes the board lights up and and i can hear the machine powered on. iirc it displays a 0 or an 8. although ill have to confirm that. just get the onscreen message stating... a problem has occurred. make sure the machine is switched on and the rs232 cable is connected correctly. ive noticed the rs232 header and battery have some corrosion. so i had the corroded tracks and connector cleaned and to no avail. could it be the battery thats failed/leaked?

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Thu 31 May , 2018 10:05 am

The board displays an 8

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by Martin » Fri 01 Jun , 2018 19:34 pm

It`s hard to say.

If you want I can test it back at Denfords if you cover the postage.

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Sat 02 Jun , 2018 12:11 pm

That would be most helpful Martin. Please pm me the details. And I will get it sent over.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by Martin » Sun 03 Jun , 2018 19:26 pm

It's

Martin Ironmonger
Denford Ltd
Armytage Road
Brighouse
HD6 1QF

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Mon 04 Jun , 2018 12:38 pm

So I've the top card extracted from the machine and checked the battery output. It's 0.68v since this is meant to be 2.4v I think it's safe to say it's done. But could this be the cause of my issue? Since it requires replacement anyway I'm going to replace it first and see if it works. Just wondering if it will require a firmware flash once it's been replaced and whats required to do it?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by Martin » Mon 04 Jun , 2018 17:55 pm

We do not use the battery on the board.

What software & version do you use to connect to the machine?

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Mon 04 Jun , 2018 18:56 pm

Vr milling 2.31 iirc

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by Martin » Mon 04 Jun , 2018 22:12 pm

That is great.

Version 2.31 will check to see if the correct mint file is loaded & if not will ask if you want to download it to which you would agree to.

You can also right mouse click on the real machine icon & search for your machine.

jonnydeen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Jul , 2013 20:45 pm
Hardware/Software: 1996 Novamill, VR milling 2.3

Re: Novamill rs232 connection fault

Post by jonnydeen » Mon 04 Jun , 2018 23:12 pm

It was running flawless before. Machining brass for roughly an hour before the issue occurred. Still have the part on the machine, in the vice waiting to resume. So since the battery isn't an issue, the cable is fine, the software/computer is fine then it must be an issue with the top board itself. The computer searches through com port 0 to 8 Then displays the connection error message. Is there any other known faults or common issues with the boards that could be causing this? If not whats the best course of action? What's the cost of getting a replacement or getting a refurb? Starting to get tempted by those cs labs motion controllers. But would rather keep the mill as standard for now as it's what I've gotten used to..
Oh and thanks Martin for all your help so far. Major kudos

Post Reply