ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Any information regarding the Denford ZeroCentre ZeroTurn ZeroBore Fanuc CNC machines

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
just-cut-it!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 05 Jan , 2020 22:44 pm
Hardware/Software: Zerocentre
Orac

ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Post by just-cut-it! » Sun 05 Jan , 2020 23:01 pm

I am in process of rebuilding a zerocentre, machine number 8 I believe with Fanuc OMb. The mc has been powered down for about 2 years and I have just tried to bring her back to life following major mechanical overhaul. When the mc starts it displays error 960 non masked interrupt. This error code is not listed in the Fanuc manual. All the psu voltages measure as they should. All advice welcome.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1706
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Post by Martin » Mon 06 Jan , 2020 9:28 am

Fanuc Alarm 960 DC24V POWER OFF

just-cut-it!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 05 Jan , 2020 22:44 pm
Hardware/Software: Zerocentre
Orac

Re: ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Post by just-cut-it! » Thu 09 Jan , 2020 23:31 pm

I’ve double checked all the power supply lines on the main board
including the +24v and they all look good. Service exchange main board is £1400 +VAT need less to say I would really like to avoid this if at all possible. Any suggestions gratefully received.

DavidB
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue 19 Oct , 2010 16:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac

Re: ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Post by DavidB » Fri 10 Jan , 2020 2:19 am

I don't know this machine or electronics but for an initial check I would look out for any socketed chips and after grounding yourself I would prise the chips out and press them back in. Classic failure in old electronics with tinned leads is oxide film formation causing degradation of the signals and removing and re-installing the chips wipes the oxide and restores signal.

just-cut-it!
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 05 Jan , 2020 22:44 pm
Hardware/Software: Zerocentre
Orac

Re: ZeroCentre Fanuc alarm 960

Post by just-cut-it! » Tue 25 Feb , 2020 22:25 pm

Just a quick update and for the benefit of anyone who is experiencing similar problems (alarm 960, 910, 911, 930) The fix was to desolder and replace the two SRAM chips (type 43256) these are still available new and only cost a few pounds.
The control now boots as it should so it’s just a case of entering in all the parameters and hopefully it’ll be making chips again soon🤞

Post Reply