Do I need a new tube?

Help, advise and examples created by the Universal Laser Systems (ULS) VersaLaser laser cutting / marking machine supplied by Denford

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
Crakkers
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri 01 Dec , 2006 16:35 pm

Do I need a new tube?

Post by Crakkers » Mon 08 Jul , 2013 14:59 pm

Hi,

Laser not cutting well at all now. Its 8 years old we think. Its 30W.

Do they really run out? If so how much for a new tube? How many new tubes have been fitted?

Thanks.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by Martin » Mon 08 Jul , 2013 18:10 pm

The tubes are classed as a consumable & air can leak in to them which lowers the power.

It may be worth checking your optics & focus height first though before ordering a service exchange unit.

Crakkers
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri 01 Dec , 2006 16:35 pm

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by Crakkers » Mon 08 Jul , 2013 21:31 pm

Martin wrote:The tubes are classed as a consumable & air can leak in to them which lowers the power.

It may be worth checking your optics & focus height first though before ordering a service exchange unit.
Ok, but how do I do that?

C.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by Martin » Tue 09 Jul , 2013 6:20 am

I presume we are talking about a VL300 or VL200?

The attached link shows how to set up & check the focus height.


viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1322

Make sure the beam window is clean, mirror 2 & 3, & the focus lens is clean(Check this carefully for damage).

Crakkers
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri 01 Dec , 2006 16:35 pm

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by Crakkers » Tue 09 Jul , 2013 9:14 am

Hi

Will do, what cost for a new tube?

C

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by Martin » Wed 10 Jul , 2013 22:38 pm

You will need to speak to Denfords to confirm a price for a service exchange laser cartridge.

Graham will need the serial number of the laser tube & the UL-30 laser cartridge.

petereggington
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun 22 Apr , 2012 19:24 pm

Re: Do I need a new tube?

Post by petereggington » Fri 08 Nov , 2013 17:38 pm

Hi

Just reading how to reset the focus height and am a little confused at Step 4 on the pdf. It says if you have purchased additional lens kits proceed to step 6. Which wants you to set the 1.5 lens up. Surely this should read If you have not purchased other lens kits, skip to step 6

Or do I have it wrong?

Pete

Post Reply