Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Mon 23 Oct , 2017 1:40 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Thu 05 Oct , 2017 21:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri 06 Jul , 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 29 Hardware/Software: Denford Orac
Hello all,

My triac spindle stalled today while plunging too aggressively into steel. I was hovering over the pause button so stopped the machine straight away, within a fraction of a second. Went and re cam-ed the operation, came back to run it again and and the spindle wouldn't start. It's a Triac PC from about 97 I think, although Denford told me it might have upgraded electronics as it has a USB interface. I checked all the fuses I can see, but they're all fine. I've taken some pictures of the electronics cabinet: https://photos.app.goo.gl/UN3B3gT7J1ticShr1

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Thu 05 Oct , 2017 22:46 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Thu 12 Sep , 2013 20:02 pm
Posts: 62 Hardware/Software: Cyclone TU150E (Running KMotionCNC with Servos)
Novamill running V5
Triac VMC
Have you tested the fuses with a multimeter, or just visually?

Have you tested the fuse on the spindle drive?

Do you hear a click when you try turning the spindle on?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Thu 05 Oct , 2017 23:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri 06 Jul , 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 29 Hardware/Software: Denford Orac
Hi Moray,

I tested all the fuses I could see my multimeter, including the one on the motor drive. Yes, a relay clicks when I turn on the drive. The two LEDs on the drive don't light up at all.

Cheers,

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Thu 05 Oct , 2017 23:27 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Thu 12 Sep , 2013 20:02 pm
Posts: 62 Hardware/Software: Cyclone TU150E (Running KMotionCNC with Servos)
Novamill running V5
Triac VMC
Next step would be to do some testing for power with everything powered up.

Start with the basics. With the cabinet open, turn the power on, then activate the spindle.
Check that there is power on both sides of the main fuses, just to rule out any faulty fuse holders.
Next check for power at the spindle drive (wire 2 and N). Wire 2 comes from the E-stop relay, and IIRC Wire 1 is the input to the E-stop relay contact for spindle power. (If you need to check, power everything down, find what terminal number wire 2 connects to on the base, pull the E-Stop relay out and there will be a contact diagram on it, so you can see where power should come in).

Obviously, be careful when testing with the cabinet powered up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Fri 06 Oct , 2017 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri 06 Jul , 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 29 Hardware/Software: Denford Orac
Thanks Moray. I won't have a chance to do this till next week now, but I'll report back what I find.

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Fri 06 Oct , 2017 22:22 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1501
Location: Brighouse
Check fuse F1. Its in the top left hand corner. You need to unscrew the black cap.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Tue 10 Oct , 2017 20:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri 06 Jul , 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 29 Hardware/Software: Denford Orac
Yeah it was fuse F1. Don't know how I missed that, must have been rushing!

It's only 3.15A though - is that right? One of the electrical diagrams has it at 6.3A. That said I don't know if it's the correct version of the drawing for my machine though.

Thanks,

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac spindle stalled, now won't start!
PostPosted: Tue 10 Oct , 2017 22:32 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1501
Location: Brighouse
I would have said it should be a 10 Amp fast blow fuse.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.134s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading