Help with programming

All info relating to the Denford Starmill CNC milling machines

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

30tooo

Help with programming

Post by 30tooo » Sun 07 Nov , 2010 13:33 pm

Hi everyone ,

I am new to programming the Starmill and have managed to program a few simple jobs . However , there is a couple of problems that I have come across and can't workout how to do .

If I set a datum , how can I make sure that when I switch the machine and computer on again , they will remember where the datum was set ?

Also , if I wish to make several components from one piece of material , at one setting , how can I program in a "Datum Shift" . I.e , if I program a component with a profile in a piece of flat and want to program another 30mm away from the first , how do I shift the Datum 30mm in the program , or is it not possible with this software ?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Re: Help with programming

Post by Martin » Mon 08 Nov , 2010 11:10 am

What machine software & version are you using?

30tooo

Post by 30tooo » Tue 09 Nov , 2010 19:44 pm

Hi Mr Guru .

I have a Nee Starmill which is being run from a windows 98 pc with the software you pointed me to a couple of weeks ago .

http://www.denfordata.com/downloads/dos/starmill.zip

Hope this is all you need . Thank you .

Denford Admin
Site Admin
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 10 Nov , 2010 10:01 am

I don't know anything about the DOS software so aren't sure it actually saved the datums/offset data - I think it used to run off floppy disk, so maybe it wrote to a small file on there?
As for datum shift, you'd have to search through the manuals for ways of activating different offsets via G code or M code.
The newer software lets you activate different datums with G55,G56,G57,G58,G59