NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

All info relating to the Denford NovaTurn CNC lathes

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Sat 12 Dec , 2015 0:24 am

Progress updates;
Its been a while, but this question is to Denford. Have any ATC tool changers become available? Like the body and tool holder?
Are there any parts (ATC turret etc) from the new Turn 270 etc available?

Thanks,

Iron-Man

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nc9MiBripQw
Attachments
28 TPI Threads Test.jpg
28 TPI Threads Test.jpg (323.66 KiB) Viewed 3605 times
Surface Finish.jpg
Surface Finish.jpg (720.73 KiB) Viewed 3605 times

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Mon 01 Feb , 2016 2:17 am

The Denford NovaTurn uses Inductive Sensors, BES 517-352-NO-L. I currently have them functioning in PathPilot. X and Z reference works correctly and also sets the soft limits.
Will post video soon and use PathPilot to make initial test parts.

Iron-Man

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Sat 13 Feb , 2016 3:49 am

Attachments
ibob+gizmo 1024x768.jpg
iBOB2 + GizmoSphere 1

I am running PathPilot on this system.
ibob+gizmo 1024x768.jpg (495.41 KiB) Viewed 3548 times
Last edited by Iron-Man on Wed 23 Mar , 2016 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Wed 23 Mar , 2016 3:01 am

Sample test part. Will post more video later.

Iron-Man
Attachments
tool holder in turret 2016-03-20 11.58.29.jpg
tool holder in turret 2016-03-20 11.58.29.jpg (353.84 KiB) Viewed 3504 times
tool holder 2016-03-20 11.58.04.jpg
tool holder 2016-03-20 11.58.04.jpg (364.74 KiB) Viewed 3504 times
part1 2016-03-20.jpg
part1 2016-03-20.jpg (495.81 KiB) Viewed 3504 times

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Sun 10 Apr , 2016 22:51 pm

As promised, a short video of referencing the X and Z axes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozDqLAXRat0

Iron-Man

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Sun 10 Apr , 2016 23:09 pm

hi there nice work!

I'm not enjoying the inaccuracy of my triac and the noise from steppers is annoying aswell. its not terribly inaccurate but I'm not too pleased with it.
I'm trying to make this triac a serious machine for production work with the tightest tolerances being +/-0.01mm and i just don't trust the system that i have now is up to the job.
so what exactly needs to be done to convert a triac to servos and the control software your using?
I'm trying to find out how much it will cost and weather or not ill be able to do it. with a tight budget also.

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Mon 11 Apr , 2016 1:17 am

toby1995 wrote:hi there nice work!

I'm not enjoying the inaccuracy of my triac and the noise from steppers is annoying aswell. its not terribly inaccurate but I'm not too pleased with it.
I'm trying to make this triac a serious machine for production work with the tightest tolerances being +/-0.01mm and i just don't trust the system that i have now is up to the job.
so what exactly needs to be done to convert a triac to servos and the control software your using?
I'm trying to find out how much it will cost and weather or not ill be able to do it. with a tight budget also.
Toby1995 thanks for the comments. I am using Tormach PathPilot. You can also use Linuxcnc. I will be converting my Triac soon to AC servos. I agree, the noise from steppers is annoying. In order to convert to servos, you need to decide if you want to go fully closed loop(+-10V analog) or semi (step/dir servos) loop. I am using fully closed loop analog (+-10V). You will need a Mesa 5i25 or 6i25 with a 7i76 or 7i77, depending on what you want. Are you located in the states? I could offer design services to help you convert.

Example test part 0.5188.


Hope this helps,

Iron-Man
Attachments
1qtr npt test part 2016-03-30.jpg
1qtr npt test part 2016-03-30.jpg (394.14 KiB) Viewed 3468 times

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Mon 11 Apr , 2016 14:03 pm

Hi Iron Man,

Thanks for the reply, unfortunately I'm not too clued up on the terminology and "techy bits" of CNCs. what would you recommend i do for the most cost effective conversion to have performance that you have got on your Nova Turn. I'm planning to build a sub contract production business with my CNC and require much more accuracy, my machine machines round parts out of round between 0.05mm and 0.07mm and i just can't live with that after using industrial VMCs. I'm not too concerned with rapid traversing speeds, as 2000mm/m is more than adequate as its such a small machine, would this keep costs down a lot bearing this in mind? I would like to go fully closed loop with AC servos but not sure what you mean by a "Mesa 5i25 or 6i25 with a 7i76 or 7i77". Ive heard many good things about the Tormach Path Pilot system, so i would choose that (assuming it accepts Generic Fanuc G code). i was going to choose Mach 3 but have heard a few nightmares from people regarding its functionality.
also im not based in the United States, I'm in England, United Kingdom. i hope this doest make things too difficult.

thanks, toby

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by TDIPower » Mon 11 Apr , 2016 22:01 pm

Really interested to know what sort of cost these conversions cost too.

Pete

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Tue 12 Apr , 2016 10:55 am

also another point to add, id still like to still run my machine on single phase house power and not have to go to 3 phase power once the upgrade is complete.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Martin » Tue 12 Apr , 2016 11:52 am

The Novaturn & Turn 270 have always been 240 volts single phase so I can't see what would be added in the upgrade to change that.

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Tue 12 Apr , 2016 15:30 pm

Denford NovaTurn refit with AC servos.
1/4 20 thread test with sample parts.

Three (3) phase power is not needed. I am using dual power from 220v and 115v standard.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FM0EkKy ... e=youtu.be


Iron-Man
Last edited by Iron-Man on Tue 12 Apr , 2016 15:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Tue 12 Apr , 2016 15:31 pm

I'm talking about the triac. some versions required 3 phase power.

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Tue 12 Apr , 2016 15:41 pm

good vid iron man

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Tue 17 May , 2016 23:33 pm

Pete, toby1995. I can put together cost information. Just let me know if you want to go stepper or servo system.
A lot of the cost depends on what you use. For example new servos and drivers can be had on ebay, but it can take some time searching.

I am debating on providing a system that would include the ibob2, gizmosphere 1, SS hard drive, pathpilot and files to set up a servo or stepper system. The only thing that a user would have to do is install, connect power and tune the servos for your system.

Iron-Man

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by toby1995 » Mon 13 Jun , 2016 14:05 pm

hi iron man,

thank you that sounds like a very helpful idea. i would definitely choose to go with servo motors like on industrial machines that actually work well lol.
i don't need any faster rapids than 1400mm/m as the machine is so small. but i do require high accuracy in some cases less than 0.01mm.
as long as I'm not using stepper motors ill be happy.

thankyou

mitip
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Aug , 2016 16:46 pm
Hardware/Software: Novaturn Vr turning

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by mitip » Sat 13 Aug , 2016 23:01 pm

i would like to add my voice, I am keen on finding a turnkey low risk way to upgrade. any thoughts on cost to the the nearsest few hundred?

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Sun 14 Aug , 2016 19:56 pm

Pete, toby1995, mitip.

My current system is using Ac servos (+-10V). If you want to use steppers, let me know.
In addition, what would you like to see in a "Kit"? I could provide a basic kit and or a list of parts. If you want to use steppers, I would need to change hal/ini files and use a mesa 7i76.
In a few months I hope to have a modified Emco tool changer functioning in pathpilot and the lathe making parts for a dental application.

Thanks,

Iron-Man

mitip
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Aug , 2016 16:46 pm
Hardware/Software: Novaturn Vr turning

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by mitip » Mon 15 Aug , 2016 7:50 am

i would prefer to use servos with encoders, anything less and I cant see the point in converting. I have used the Mitsubishi 100w hf-kp13 and MRj3 10A drives on a mill conversion on which I was able to do the mechanicals working with someone who did all the electrics, electronics and software. I have not checked the space to see whether a motor and encoder fit lengthwise. I have got a spare hf-kp13 motor and 4 off MRJ3 10B spare (I was pushed to use the MRj3 10A instead so they are spare) here if you wanted to try it out. I guess this requires an analogue interface card, I am not sure of the spec of the one you describe?

RE a kit;
I can get hold of motors and drives and make up mechanical parts if that helps.
If the electronics are small, I assume a 24v psu, 2 drives and a card, we could use an off the shelf enclosure or is it necessary to use the control box? On one hand it is nice not to hack it about if all one is using is the enclosure.
Whilst it would be good to use the same cable and connector it will need independent motor and encoder cables and I have been told it is best not to cut into the Mitsubishi (or similar) provided cables. I guess if the box is small it can be bundled with the lathe for moving.
From then on its got to be turnkey for me I'm afraid i.e. set up and plug and play to work with say Mach 3/4, a mach 3 machine config file at least.
Is this feasible?

User avatar
Iron-Man
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 28 Feb , 2011 9:40 am
Hardware/Software: Modified NovaTurn with Yaskawa AC Servos +-10V, PathPilot running on a GizmoSphere 1 with Ibob2 PCIE interface that I designed. Denford Triac to be modified with AC Servos.

Re: NovaTurn Servo retrofit AMD Gizmosphere iBOB2 PCIe x1

Post by Iron-Man » Mon 15 Aug , 2016 21:36 pm

Mitip the Yaskawa 100W servos I used were almost a perfect fit. I only needed to make new motor plates. If you want to use Mach 3 then you will need servo drives that use step-direction. I am using a complete closed loop system. My servo drives take +-10V analog with encoder feed back to Linuxcnc / Pathpilot. Mach 3 will not work with analog servo drives without additional hardware. Mach 3 runs under Windows (not real-time). If you want true precision, you need a real-time operating system plus a closed loop servo system. Any kit would not be plug and play because analog servos require tuning, ie. PID loops. As far as size. The AMD board is approx 4" x 4". The iBOB2 approx 2" x 3".

Iron-Man

Post Reply