atc not working

All info relating to the Denford Novamill CNC Milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Sun 09 Sep , 2018 17:38 pm

got the homing problem solved now cant get it to change tool got air to the machine im using mdi to change tool m6t1 any help welcomed
thanks Geoff

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: atc not working

Post by Martin » Mon 10 Sep , 2018 16:31 pm

Hi Geoff

What software are you using to connect to the machine?

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Tue 11 Sep , 2018 7:32 am

hi Martin thanks for replying the software is vr milling v5 via usb lead does this make a difference
the machine came form a collage
thanks Geoff

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: atc not working

Post by Martin » Tue 11 Sep , 2018 9:52 am

Have you told it you have an ATC fitted.


Disconnect from the machine.
Go to Setup, Setup Machine Parameters(Password is Denny) then Tool Change & tick Auto Changer

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Tue 11 Sep , 2018 14:10 pm

thanks Martin will try that this afternoon
Geoff

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Tue 11 Sep , 2018 15:46 pm

hi Martin yes that's worked the atc is moving but the carasol is half a turn out somewhere I read there is a m code to do this
Geoff

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: atc not working

Post by Martin » Wed 12 Sep , 2018 11:31 am

M34

Then you will need to force the carousel to position 1 & input a M27(reset to position 1)

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Wed 12 Sep , 2018 16:12 pm

Martin
have tried m27 and m34 no movement machine times out
if I request m6 the table moves to tool change position the carousel moves to under
the spindle and the head comes down at that point I have to stop it as the carousel is out of position
if i put the m code to rotate the carousel nothing moves could it be a problem with the motor
thanks Geoff

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: atc not working

Post by Martin » Fri 14 Sep , 2018 12:36 pm

Can you try with M32 & M33. Carousel clockwise/anticlockwise.

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Fri 14 Sep , 2018 16:52 pm

hi Martin
thanks for all the help no matter what code I put in the carousel will not move on closer look there is no movement in the mechanisem at all I would have thought there would be some movement beging to wonder if its seized there seems to be some rust on it will take it apart at the week end be in touch
Geoff

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Thu 20 Sep , 2018 15:58 pm

hi Martin
got round to dismantling tool changer today total seized Geneva wheel jammed all free now theres a cam on the motor and a sensor do you no how to set this up
thanks Geoff

geoff57
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 26 Aug , 2018 12:52 pm
Hardware/Software: novamill atc
cambamb

Re: atc not working

Post by geoff57 » Fri 21 Sep , 2018 16:19 pm

hi Martin
don't no if you reading these got the tool changer working today had a couple of funny messages
but it works :lolol: many thanks for all your help will be in touch
Geoff

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: atc not working

Post by Martin » Sat 22 Sep , 2018 23:06 pm

Hi Geoff

That's great. The sensor should be 1mm away from the metal.

Post Reply