Mirac And no software

All info relating to the Denford Mirac lathes

Moderators: Steve, Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by TDIPower » Mon 22 Jun , 2015 23:22 pm

Glad to see things are moving for you at last!

Pete

Adrian-CNC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 04 Oct , 2013 21:14 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Starmill run by MACH 3
Mirac in need of TLC

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by Adrian-CNC » Fri 10 Jul , 2015 6:32 am

Does anybody know how to put a directive into the G code from the desktop tutor / front panel keyboard, I think I've tried all the obvious but I can't see how, the alternate method I'm guessing is to use another editor and a normal keyboard!

Thanks,

Adrian-CNC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 04 Oct , 2013 21:14 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Starmill run by MACH 3
Mirac in need of TLC

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by Adrian-CNC » Tue 21 Jul , 2015 8:18 am

Took the coolant pump out a couple of weeks ago, and opened up the impeller housing. It had some plastic swarf in it, I've cleaned it out now and the pump seems to run properly now. The machine was shipped full of coolant which has splashed all around inside the machine, so while the pump is out of the way I'm cleaning that all out, must have done a lot of brass in the past as it is dark green, and goes like mayonnaise when water added.
Bios battery changed now and the machine boots reliably, just need to sort a hard drive now, and learn how to program in Mirac speak seems very different to Mach3.

Made a copy of my boot disk for another forum user so hope that gets his machine Working again.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by TDIPower » Wed 22 Jul , 2015 12:44 pm

Brilliant, glad you got up and running, I seem to remember the old bios batteries were a form of rechargeable that leaked when they got old. My 1st pc was a 286 8mhz, I remember joking we would be able to tune into them with radio test gear if they got much faster!

I'm going to look at adding a gravity coolant system to the starturn. When I finally get it all set up. Way to many half done jobs at the moment and need to clear the deck

Pete

Adrian-CNC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 04 Oct , 2013 21:14 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Starmill run by MACH 3
Mirac in need of TLC

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by Adrian-CNC » Sun 01 Nov , 2015 23:04 pm

The MIRAC is not working properly again, it looks like the power supply for the Syntel board is not starting up, the 5V rail is slow to startup and stays low for a while. Does anyone have details of the power required of the GSM Syntel board or Schemtics for the power supply.
Thanks

Adrian-CNC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 04 Oct , 2013 21:14 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Starmill run by MACH 3
Mirac in need of TLC

Re: Mirac And no software

Post by Adrian-CNC » Mon 30 May , 2016 17:11 pm

Does anyone know how to start the MIRAC software in offline mode so I can simulate code without the machine connected?

Post Reply