Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

All info relating to the Denford large format CNC routers

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:19 pm

Hi, I hope someone can help me.

I have rescued a Maxirouter (it was going to be scrapped!)

I have reassembled it, but it's status is showing as "Emergency Stop" even though the e-stop has been reset.

I suspect a loose or damaged wire somewhere, does anyone have a wiring diagram please?

The green LED on the board shows stope

Also, I have found one limit switch under the table, but cannot see any more, am I right in thinking that a limit switch may also cause the machine to show "Emergency Stop"?

Thanks in advance.

Alan

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Fri 12 Jun , 2020 10:48 am

Hi Alan

Some of the limit switches are inside the stepper motors.

Have you tried pressing in & holding the Axis Limit Switch Override which should be near the E-Stop button. It should bypass all the limit switches.

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Sun 14 Jun , 2020 15:44 pm

Hi Martin, thanks for the help so far.

The stepper motors haven't been disassembled, so I don't think that's the problem then.

I don't have an override next to the E-Stop button.

There's a slider on the ESR module inside the wiring cabinet, is that it? Sliding that to the left sounds like it's resetting something, but doesn't get rid of
the E-Stop message.

Photos:https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wxnvqrqexuja ... g1jTa?dl=0


Regards
Alan

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 500
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by TDIPower » Sun 14 Jun , 2020 22:10 pm

I'm not familiar with the Maxi but the ESR is the E stop relay, the slider as far as i can tell is a manual operation of it.

The override Martin mentioned I believe could be the green button next to the E_stop switch.

I know this might sound daft but you have reset the e-stop switch (twist and it should pop up)

Have you see the last comment in this post? http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2901


Pete

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Sun 14 Jun , 2020 22:16 pm

You could also try to move each towards the centre of it`s travel away from any limit switches.

What version of VRMilling are you running from? We did have to make some alterations to the home directions years ago.

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Thu 18 Jun , 2020 17:06 pm

TDIPower wrote:
Sun 14 Jun , 2020 22:10 pm
I'm not familiar with the Maxi but the ESR is the E stop relay, the slider as far as i can tell is a manual operation of it.

The override Martin mentioned I believe could be the green button next to the E_stop switch.

I know this might sound daft but you have reset the e-stop switch (twist and it should pop up)

Have you see the last comment in this post? http://www.denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2901

Pete
Hi Pete,

I thought the slider would be a manual reset, unfortunately, it did nothing to help me.

The green button is for the suction pump.

No such thing as a daft question, but yes, the e-stop switch has been reset.

Is the e-stop circuitry normally closed (NC), or normally open (NO)?

I'll take a look at that comment at the weekend.

Thanks for the suggestions

Alan

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Thu 18 Jun , 2020 17:12 pm

Martin wrote:
Sun 14 Jun , 2020 22:16 pm
You could also try to move each towards the centre of it`s travel away from any limit switches.

What version of VRMilling are you running from? We did have to make some alterations to the home directions years ago.
I had already moved everything to the centre (X,Y & Z) thinking that would do it.

I'm using v5.19.0.408

I was told it was working perfectly before disassembly (which I did, with plenty of photos of the wiring beforehand)

I think I'll try another PC with the latest version at the weekend.

I can only look at it for so long, because it's making me so frustrated!! :ReallyMad:

Thanks
Alan

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Thu 18 Jun , 2020 17:30 pm

Are the electrical drawings inside the electrical cabinet?

Not sure when we are back in the office but I should be able to find some then.

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Thu 18 Jun , 2020 18:20 pm

Martin wrote:
Thu 18 Jun , 2020 17:30 pm
Are the electrical drawings inside the electrical cabinet?

Not sure when we are back in the office but I should be able to find some then.
No, they are not, It would be fantastic if you could find some.

To be clear, this is an identical machine:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/69gemaq95ob4w ... r.jpg?dl=0

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Thu 18 Jun , 2020 22:16 pm

Just noticed in one of the pictures you put on drop box that the 0 Volts to the E-Stop Contact Coil (wire 60) is still in the trunking & not connected to to terminal A2 on the contact.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 500
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by TDIPower » Fri 19 Jun , 2020 17:04 pm

flipping heck Martin did you double as an eagle eye action man as a kid! I noticed the A2 terminal wasn't screwed down but not knowing the machine didn't realise.

Lets hope that's hope thats the problem!

Pete

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Fri 19 Jun , 2020 18:54 pm

It certainly did fix it!

Thank you very much.

I didn't think I had needed to undo that when dismantling.

I took photos of every connection as soon as I stripped off the trunking covers, and it wasn't connected then.

Maybe it was loose, and dislodged when taking the cover off.

Anyway, the problem I now have is that I have no movement in the X axis. Y and Z move when jogging, but nothing on the X axis.

Any ideas what I should check? connections, etc

It has Nextmove ST with USB interface if that helps.

Thanks again,

Alan

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1291
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Steve » Sat 20 Jun , 2020 7:44 am

Post some pictures of the connections to the control card on the machine.

Does the X axis motor get warm when you power on the machine?

When you try to jog the axis is there any noise?

Does the position display change?

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Sat 20 Jun , 2020 13:16 pm

I've posted some pictures of the control board here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wxnvqrqexuja ... g1jTa?dl=0

The orange and green LED's on the board are flashing

No the X-axis motor doesn't get warm

No noise

The display position does change.

It's as though there's no power to the X axis, I've checked fuses F1 to F5

TIA

Alan

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Sat 20 Jun , 2020 18:38 pm

I'm a numpty!

:delirious:

I had wired the motor incorrectly on the board

But at least I was right about it not having any power!

While trying to get it working, I upgraded the software to 5.69, and ran the I/O diagnostics.

This shows "E Stop Enable relay and E stop feedback both as NOT OK"

Ideas please?

Thank you all for your help.

Alan

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Sun 21 Jun , 2020 23:05 pm

Can you post of a screen shot of what you are seeing. Not 100% sure what you are describing.

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Wed 24 Jun , 2020 14:49 pm

Here's the screen I'm talking about

https://www.dropbox.com/s/soweshdh32uz0 ... 6.jpg?dl=0

Thanks
Alan

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1719
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by Martin » Wed 24 Jun , 2020 22:23 pm

Does the machine work?

Some of the interlocks are tied in to the current machines we supply.

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Wed 24 Jun , 2020 22:27 pm

I haven't cut any jobs with it yet, I wanted to make sure the warnings were OK.

It does seem to be working OK though, I'll put it to work now.

Thanks very much Martin,

Alan

AlanC1959
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Jun , 2020 15:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Maxirouter
VR Milling v5.69
Location: Cleethorpes, UK

Re: Maxirouter Emergency Stop Help

Post by AlanC1959 » Fri 03 Jul , 2020 11:13 am

It works!

I made a spoil board for it over the weekend with CNC created holes and fence.

Thanks very much everyone

Alan

Post Reply