Motor and spindle pulley

All info relating to the Denford EasiMill and EasiTurn lathes and mills

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
nemo1966
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 09 Oct , 2013 16:56 pm
Hardware/Software: None yet!

Motor and spindle pulley

Post by nemo1966 » Tue 10 Apr , 2018 20:00 pm

Hi I have an Easiturn 3 - the motor pulley is 52.4mm (50mm nom ?) and the spindle pulley is 63.50mm (60mm nom?) - both are V belt with 10 grooves.

The motor pulley has a 24mm ID hole in it with keyway

I would like to change the motor pulley to the same size as the spindle pulley (so I get a 1:1 ratio).

Does anyone jkow where I can get a 10 groove pulley from?

thanks

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Motor and spindle pulley

Post by TDIPower » Tue 10 Apr , 2018 22:18 pm

Have you tried Simply Bearings? they do more than that, I've had belts and pulleys in the past.

Pete

nemo1966
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 09 Oct , 2013 16:56 pm
Hardware/Software: None yet!

Re: Motor and spindle pulley

Post by nemo1966 » Tue 10 Apr , 2018 23:36 pm

TDIPower wrote:Have you tried Simply Bearings? they do more than that, I've had belts and pulleys in the past.

Pete
First place I looked. I can find 8 groove and 12 but not 10.

thanks

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Motor and spindle pulley

Post by TDIPower » Wed 11 Apr , 2018 18:48 pm

If the 12 fits I would run that but on 10 grooves :) You will need a belt also.

I've been looking at my starturn 5, it has a step down on the drive ratio also, so I have a motor with max speed of 4000rpm and a chuck max or 1800rpm. I did wonder about changing the drive pulley to 1:1 but not sure about the loss of grunt. Also haven't found a supplier of the correct drive belts yet (either original size or what would be required.)

ClitheroeKate
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat 23 Mar , 2013 22:11 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Easymill 3, 1984, i believe it is totaly origonal. The spindle motor is marked as 1 hp, 3 phase with four pulleys for speed changes. 3 phase coolant pump. 1 board in the control is marked as PNC3. There are a few buttons missing on the control box and the tape drive dosen't work. The previous owner ran it off 3 phase and as I haven't got three phase at home I'm looking to convert it to single phase and up-date/up-grade it in the process. I am however a complete newbie.

Re: Motor and spindle pulley

Post by ClitheroeKate » Fri 11 May , 2018 8:47 am

I have a rusty 50mm pulley if its any use. 10 grooves, 24mm ish bore, key way.
It was taken from an Easyturn motor, 2hp.

Post Reply