DXF Import Problems

A place to talk about QuickTURN 2D Design - our first Lathe CAD CAM software for a very long time.

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
JohnTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 16 Mar , 2015 15:47 pm
Hardware/Software: Windows XP (SP2)
1.8 pentium

QuickTURN 2D
Denford Mirac with 8 station tool-changer
Converted to MACH 3

DXF Import Problems

Post by JohnTech » Mon 16 Mar , 2015 16:14 pm

We have recently purchased Quickturn.
Every time I try to import DXF files through the wizard, the initial drawing shows up OK
but then after the drawing area is selected and the wizard sends the drawing through to the main program, the drawing becomes corrupt. Even the simplest of rectangles get turned into a triangle and more complicated drawings get broken up.
At first I thought it was the DXF version as Quickturn was looking for revision 12, and I was getting an 'unknown DXF file version' warning, but after exporting drawings from Solidworks in R12 format with no file header warning I still have the same problems.
Can anyone help?

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by Steve » Wed 18 Mar , 2015 16:12 pm

Hi,

The QuickTURN 2D Design DXF import is very basic and is unlikely to be able to bring in a file directly from your solidworks.

The import will bring in a single poly line profile and a center line only. (Defining half the part)

The profile must start at the left hand side of the design and must adhere to the same rules as when drawing in QuickTurn. The lines must be joined. Arcs must be within a quadrant. Lines must not be drawn beyond vertical etc.

If you are outputting from a Cad package it will probably include vertical lines and the mirrored image of the profile.

JohnTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 16 Mar , 2015 15:47 pm
Hardware/Software: Windows XP (SP2)
1.8 pentium

QuickTURN 2D
Denford Mirac with 8 station tool-changer
Converted to MACH 3

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by JohnTech » Mon 23 Mar , 2015 10:32 am

Thanks for your reply.

I have done all of the things you suggested:
Closed polylines, tried starting the polyline from different edges, exported the DXF in several different revisions.
Tried importing VERY simple polyline drawings (non of which are already mirrored).

The package at present doesn't seem to be able to import DXF - or am I missing something?

:(

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by Steve » Mon 23 Mar , 2015 10:45 am

Can you email me a couple of the simple dxf files and I will ask the software writer to take a look.

JohnTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 16 Mar , 2015 15:47 pm
Hardware/Software: Windows XP (SP2)
1.8 pentium

QuickTURN 2D
Denford Mirac with 8 station tool-changer
Converted to MACH 3

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by JohnTech » Mon 23 Mar , 2015 12:32 pm

Hi,

Thanks again for your reply.
Attached are a few files - two from Techsoft 2D Design and two from Solidworks (just drawn as a profile)
We would prefer to use Techsoft 2D Design to create our profiles as all the students know this software.
Attachments
Test piece 4 (from solidworks dxf rev14).DXF
(13.94 KiB) Downloaded 268 times
Test piece 3 (from solidworks dxf rev12).DXF
(8.25 KiB) Downloaded 260 times
Test piece 2.dxf
Produced using Techsoft 2D Design
(3.23 KiB) Downloaded 281 times
Test piece 1.dxf
Produced using Techsoft 2D Design
(3.39 KiB) Downloaded 159 times

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 25 Mar , 2015 15:15 pm

Hi. Thankyou for providing the DXF files. There is a new version of Quickturn that has been uploaded, version 1.22. This has been edited and will load your DXF files correctly. If you have difficulty with any other files then can you provide them too please.

The new installation is at:

http://www.denfordata.com/downloads/Qui ... _v1.22.zip

JohnTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon 16 Mar , 2015 15:47 pm
Hardware/Software: Windows XP (SP2)
1.8 pentium

QuickTURN 2D
Denford Mirac with 8 station tool-changer
Converted to MACH 3

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by JohnTech » Wed 25 Mar , 2015 17:05 pm

This sounds great, will hopefully have a look at this tomorrow.

Thank you

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: DXF Import Problems

Post by Steve » Mon 13 Apr , 2015 12:23 pm

just checked this out and it works well. Thanks.

Post Reply