Purchase?

A place to talk about QuickTURN 2D Design - our first Lathe CAD CAM software for a very long time.

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
Egon
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm

Purchase?

Post by Egon » Mon 30 Dec , 2013 20:02 pm

Hi I was looking at buying a simple lathe cam and tried the Quickturn software but can't find a price anywhere on the denford site????

I have a converted Easiturn lathe that I use for college.

Does anyone know how much it is etc?

thanks
Egon

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Purchase?

Post by Martin » Mon 30 Dec , 2013 20:25 pm

I think it is £295 for a site licence. Will check later to confirm.

Egon
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm

Re: Purchase?

Post by Egon » Tue 31 Dec , 2013 15:50 pm

Thanks, I was just reading on another post that the Denford Quickturn doesn't do threading unless on recent denford machines. This makes £295 quite expensive for a single user who is still at college. Also with it not producing any g-code at all you cannot really determine whether it's going to be any use or not. I would have thought that a few lines of code would be produced so the user/evaluator could determine whether it is fit for use.

Pity really as it looks perfect for turning, simple and easy to use. It would certainly fits the gap in the market that exists r.e. a decent, simple, easy to use path creator. Most package are way over the top for turning.

Egon.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Purchase?

Post by angel-tech » Tue 31 Dec , 2013 17:04 pm

what has the easiturn been converted to. What os does it have.

Egon
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm

Re: Purchase?

Post by Egon » Thu 02 Jan , 2014 0:44 am

It has been converted to spindle 4 and a uniport breakout board using existing steppers. Mach3 on XP. I have some new cnc4you nema34 steppers that I want to fit but the spindles are 12.7mm diameter, the existing steppers are approx 9.5mm diameter. Wondering what to do about that one.

Egon

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Purchase?

Post by angel-tech » Thu 02 Jan , 2014 0:53 am

there are quite a few wizards in mach3 that will give you most machining operations.

Egon
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm

Re: Purchase?

Post by Egon » Fri 03 Jan , 2014 18:57 pm

I've tried those and as much as they are OK for simple stuff I was after a path application. The quickturn is perfect, it's a pity someone doesn't make something similar for lathes.

Post Reply