Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Sat 24 Feb , 2018 1:18 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Purchase?
PostPosted: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 20:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm
Posts: 16
Hi I was looking at buying a simple lathe cam and tried the Quickturn software but can't find a price anywhere on the denford site????

I have a converted Easiturn lathe that I use for college.

Does anyone know how much it is etc?

thanks
Egon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 20:25 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1537
Location: Brighouse
I think it is £295 for a site licence. Will check later to confirm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec , 2013 15:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm
Posts: 16
Thanks, I was just reading on another post that the Denford Quickturn doesn't do threading unless on recent denford machines. This makes £295 quite expensive for a single user who is still at college. Also with it not producing any g-code at all you cannot really determine whether it's going to be any use or not. I would have thought that a few lines of code would be produced so the user/evaluator could determine whether it is fit for use.

Pity really as it looks perfect for turning, simple and easy to use. It would certainly fits the gap in the market that exists r.e. a decent, simple, easy to use path creator. Most package are way over the top for turning.

Egon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec , 2013 17:04 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Quatroland Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
what has the easiturn been converted to. What os does it have.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Jan , 2014 0:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm
Posts: 16
It has been converted to spindle 4 and a uniport breakout board using existing steppers. Mach3 on XP. I have some new cnc4you nema34 steppers that I want to fit but the spindles are 12.7mm diameter, the existing steppers are approx 9.5mm diameter. Wondering what to do about that one.

Egon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Thu 02 Jan , 2014 0:53 am 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Quatroland Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
there are quite a few wizards in mach3 that will give you most machining operations.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Purchase?
PostPosted: Fri 03 Jan , 2014 18:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon 30 Dec , 2013 19:59 pm
Posts: 16
I've tried those and as much as they are OK for simple stuff I was after a path application. The quickturn is perfect, it's a pity someone doesn't make something similar for lathes.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.133s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading