Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Sat 26 May , 2018 18:34 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D
PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct , 2012 20:14 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm
Posts: 50
Hi
I have a Novaturn with tool changer and encoder fitted, with Smartstep board , V2.1 Rom and V1.27 VRTurning software - serial connection
If I purchase the latest version of QuickTURN 2D will it all work, I have tried the demo and the machine is not listed.
Will I be able to cut external and internal threads?

I assume that all the save features have been switched off on the Trial Version?

Any one out there have a G-Code generated file from 1.9 with internal thread to see what its like in VRTurning and maybe cut on the Novaturn.

Denford, How much is QuickTURN 2D?

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D
PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct , 2012 8:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 3581
Location: Sunny Brighouse Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Unfortunately threading is the only thing that won't work on older machines.
We have had to alter the way threads work in the latest USB machines with the latest Mint program (Mint is the logic file sent to the Baldor control card)
I don't even think the older control could be made to work with Quickturn 2D as the threading feature on the Denstep / Smartstep was a fixed cycle which included the move in X, thread in Z move out in X+Z, return to start.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D -
PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct , 2012 14:46 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm
Posts: 50
Hi, thank you for the clarification
Was there any version that did work with the Novaturn to get thread turning to work?
If not, bearing this in mind, and its unlikley that any other software will produce the G-Code for this threading cycle
If I buy the software knowing it will not fully work with the Denford Novaturn can I get it at a discount?
Regards JCS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D
PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct , 2012 15:14 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Posts: 1222
Location: Denford UK
Hi,

The Quick Turn 2D Design costs £150 and there is not a discounted version.

The options open to you are to upgrade the contrtol card from Smartstep to the Nextmove with USB which would allow you to run current software and communicate by USB.

I have created a program for you to try. It uses 50mm bar 25mm diameter and has an internal and external thread.

The tooling and turret locations are detailed in the header of the program.

(QuickTURN 2D Design - Untitled)
(12/10/2012)
(Material Type: Aluminium (2011T3))
(Tools in order of use:)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 6: Center Drill Tool Diameter 5mm)
(Tool 4: Drill Tool Diameter 10mm)
(Tool 2: Right Hand Boring Bar Tool Tip Angle 80°)
(Tool 8: Right Hand Internal Threading Bar Tool Tip Angle 60°)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 7: Right Hand Groove/Parting Tool Tip Width 2.200mm)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 3: Left Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 5: Right Hand External Threading Tool Tip Angle 60°)
(Tool 7: Right Hand Groove/Parting Tool Tip Width 2.200mm)


Attachments:
internal and external thread.fnl [5.37 KiB]
Downloaded 412 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D s
PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct , 2012 18:50 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm
Posts: 50
Hi
Have this and have run it on VRTurning 1.27.2 so I understand it
The 3D sim is fine, once I got the tools right
Is this program created in Quickturn 2D?
I will try this on the machine, I need to get all the tools sorted.
Will let you know how I get on.

Going away for a while so may be a week or two

Regards JCS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D
PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec , 2012 21:30 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice

Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm
Posts: 50
Sorry for delay

The G32 command in the file is ignored sends the X axis to its lower limit.
Looks like no threading for me unless I machine the outer dia and insert the G92 code.

I am now using V1.29 of VRTurn and there are some very odd things happening when I use the auto tool changer that does not happen with 1.27
I am posting this problem on the VRTurning board.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.158s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading