Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D

A place to talk about QuickTURN 2D Design - our first Lathe CAD CAM software for a very long time.

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
JSKRABA
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm

Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D

Post by JSKRABA » Thu 11 Oct , 2012 20:14 pm

Hi
I have a Novaturn with tool changer and encoder fitted, with Smartstep board , V2.1 Rom and V1.27 VRTurning software - serial connection
If I purchase the latest version of QuickTURN 2D will it all work, I have tried the demo and the machine is not listed.
Will I be able to cut external and internal threads?

I assume that all the save features have been switched off on the Trial Version?

Any one out there have a G-Code generated file from 1.9 with internal thread to see what its like in VRTurning and maybe cut on the Novaturn.

Denford, How much is QuickTURN 2D?

Regards

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 12 Oct , 2012 8:51 am

Unfortunately threading is the only thing that won't work on older machines.
We have had to alter the way threads work in the latest USB machines with the latest Mint program (Mint is the logic file sent to the Baldor control card)
I don't even think the older control could be made to work with Quickturn 2D as the threading feature on the Denstep / Smartstep was a fixed cycle which included the move in X, thread in Z move out in X+Z, return to start.

JSKRABA
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm

Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D -

Post by JSKRABA » Fri 12 Oct , 2012 14:46 pm

Hi, thank you for the clarification
Was there any version that did work with the Novaturn to get thread turning to work?
If not, bearing this in mind, and its unlikley that any other software will produce the G-Code for this threading cycle
If I buy the software knowing it will not fully work with the Denford Novaturn can I get it at a discount?
Regards JCS

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D

Post by Steve » Fri 12 Oct , 2012 15:14 pm

Hi,

The Quick Turn 2D Design costs £150 and there is not a discounted version.

The options open to you are to upgrade the contrtol card from Smartstep to the Nextmove with USB which would allow you to run current software and communicate by USB.

I have created a program for you to try. It uses 50mm bar 25mm diameter and has an internal and external thread.

The tooling and turret locations are detailed in the header of the program.

(QuickTURN 2D Design - Untitled)
(12/10/2012)
(Material Type: Aluminium (2011T3))
(Tools in order of use:)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 6: Center Drill Tool Diameter 5mm)
(Tool 4: Drill Tool Diameter 10mm)
(Tool 2: Right Hand Boring Bar Tool Tip Angle 80°)
(Tool 8: Right Hand Internal Threading Bar Tool Tip Angle 60°)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 7: Right Hand Groove/Parting Tool Tip Width 2.200mm)
(Tool 1: Right Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 3: Left Hand Turning Tool Tip Angle 65°)
(Tool 5: Right Hand External Threading Tool Tip Angle 60°)
(Tool 7: Right Hand Groove/Parting Tool Tip Width 2.200mm)
Attachments
internal and external thread.fnl
(5.37 KiB) Downloaded 476 times

JSKRABA
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm

Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D s

Post by JSKRABA » Tue 16 Oct , 2012 18:50 pm

Hi
Have this and have run it on VRTurning 1.27.2 so I understand it
The 3D sim is fine, once I got the tools right
Is this program created in Quickturn 2D?
I will try this on the machine, I need to get all the tools sorted.
Will let you know how I get on.

Going away for a while so may be a week or two

Regards JCS

JSKRABA
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat 11 Nov , 2006 19:17 pm

Re: Novaturn Smart Step, V2.1Rom working with Quickturn 2D

Post by JSKRABA » Sun 30 Dec , 2012 21:30 pm

Sorry for delay

The G32 command in the file is ignored sends the X axis to its lower limit.
Looks like no threading for me unless I machine the outer dia and insert the G92 code.

I am now using V1.29 of VRTurn and there are some very odd things happening when I use the auto tool changer that does not happen with 1.27
I am posting this problem on the VRTurning board.

Post Reply