Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Fri 22 Jun , 2018 10:08 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr , 2014 15:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon 28 Apr , 2014 15:54 pm
Posts: 1 Hardware/Software: MicroRouter V3
VR Milling V5
Have been having a few issues with my MicroRouter V3 running on VRMilling V5.
Have just downloaded and installed the latest version of VRMillingV5 and Getting the following error pop up but no idea what it is.

Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module 'VRMilling5.exe'. Write of address 00000190

Before installing the newest version I was having issues with the Z-axis rising randomly during machining. The Z-Axis would rise without any noticable reason but the co-ordinates on screen didn't seem to be changing, so Assume the G-code isn't at fault..

Any Suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun , 2014 21:00 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
Ive just been trying to get the 2 micromill 2000s back up and running at work and facing the same issue.

All worked fine on V2 when I had 'my' network in school, the school upgraded the network to Win7 and I had to become part of it. As a result I lost the access to do anything other than log in and use programs (had to pass it over to the schools ICT guys). We did have VR5 running after a bit of a battle but the PCs have been re imaged and I can't be going through all that again.

Fortune smiled on me last Thursday when I came across 2 old laptops (destined for the bin) they both have serial ports.

I installed VR 2 and got the micromills running fine. The problem is I want to use TechsoftV2 for the drawing as it has single line fonts (V cuter engraving into wood).
To just get things up and running again and refresh my brain I installed VR 2 and Techsoft V1 with Denford extensions. All good.
Techsoft V2 installed, work produced in there, copy/paste to V1 and G code file produced. Machined a test piece no problem.

So happy that was was all up and running I today installed VR5, used the same drawing file from the previous test in Techsoft V2 exported as DXF and then opened them in VR5
When I tried to run a program in the VR machine it kept saying I was trying to exceed movement limits (same file as used in VR2)

SO then when I try to connect to the really machine from VR5 I keep getting the Access violation error. I couldn't try it on the other Micromill as this has been moved in the workshop and needs power to it.

Is there an Ideas what may be the cause?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun , 2014 21:33 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1573
Location: Brighouse
Have you selected the correct machine type in VRMilling 5?

If they are standard Micromills with Denstep cards fitted (red seven segment LED's) then you will need to go in to the legacy machines & select the Micromill.

Think it's Setup then Select Machine then Legacy Machine then the Micromill.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Mon 23 Jun , 2014 22:31 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
Yep, red 7 seg led display on control board, Micromill 2000 selected from the legacy list.

Im going to do a little investigating now. One machine is a year older than the other, I have been at the school from before they were supplied, and did most of the work using them. There was an eprom upgrade fitted to them at some point in time.

What is the minimum eprom version for VR5?

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun , 2014 18:19 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1573
Location: Brighouse
V2.0 but V2.1 would be better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Tue 24 Jun , 2014 19:35 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
I didn't get chance check anything today. Im pretty sure the eproms got replaced in both machines at least once in the 13ish years they have been in the school. I think I still have the old ones too. Must check things out tomorrow.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Wed 25 Jun , 2014 3:59 am 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1573
Location: Brighouse
Make sure you have the correct Com Port set in the Communication Section in the Machine Parameters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun , 2014 19:32 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
OK so I got digging today as I have to have these up and running for next Friday.

No1. Micromill 2000, Feb 2002 Fitted with V2.1 eprom (still have the DENMINT V2.0/S/B19-JD5 eprom that was originally in it.) Red 7 segment Display on board.

No2. Micromill 2000CE, October 2002 says Software Version V2.13 on the side, Fitted with Denford BETA eprom inside. Red 7 segment display on board.

These were both supplied in the time I have been at the school, any work on them has been done by Denford.

They were originally running VR2 fine, then VR5 when the school changed to win7 in 2012.

Now I have 2 Laptops with RS232 ports, both installed with VR2 and can run the machines no problem.

Looking at the Machine properties in VR2 it is selected as Micromill 2000, in the communications section it shows
Baud rate 19200
COM port 1
Stop bits 1
Mint File Micromill 2000.mnt
polling delay 20
hardware handshake not selected
Control type 20


Running VR5
I have tried from the legacy options
Micromill 2000 DENSTEP
Micromill DENSTEP

So far For 'restore machine offets' I am selecting
ALLOFFSETS.MOF

But have no offsets saved.

Ive got the laptop next to me and just noticed the option to 'hit esc to skip and use default values' (I will try this to see if it makes a difference)

Now under the machine properties for the
Micromill 2000 DENSTEP
Baud rate 19200
COM port 1
Stop bits 1
Mint File Micromill 2000 DENSTEP.mnt
polling delay 20
hardware handshake not selected
Control type 0

For the
Micromill DENSTEP
Baud rate 19200
COM port 1
Stop bits 1
Mint File Micromill DENSTEP.mnt
polling delay 20
hardware handshake not selected
Control type 0


As soon as I click on the connect to machine button I get

Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module 'VRMilling5.exe". Write of address 00000190


I have just clicked on connect to machine (the machine is in work) and it reports the same.

I have just clicked on HELP 'Support Me!' looking down through the file (attached) under RS232 it reports com port=0
Could this be my problem that for some reason that isn't set correctly, if so How do I change it?
Attachment:
VRMilling5SUP.CAB [15.54 KiB]
Downloaded 245 times


Cheers Pete


Last edited by TDIPower on Thu 26 Jun , 2014 20:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun , 2014 20:21 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
Just been reading around a bit more and found this

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=234
Quote:
1. Check the PC COM Port is working (I.e. plug in a serial mouse)
2. Check that the RS232 cable is Denford supplied or made to Denford spec
3. Make sure the correct machine is selected (See blue banner at top of VR Milling screen)
4. What is the status of the 7 Segment display on the Denstep board?
and 8 or a 2 are OK
5. In VR Milling (Top menu bar)
Setup
Setup Machine Parameters
Password denny
Communications
Make sure the com port is the correct No
Control type 7 (RED 7 segment display)
Control type 9 (GREEN 7 segment display)

6. The Baldor driver is not installed (check under USB devices in Device Manager)

Also see this topic for a bit more help...
viewtopic.php?t=451

See also

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=611&p



Now in my machine properties it says Control type 0

Just changed it to control type 20 (as per the V2 file) and it now shows the loss of RS232 connection rather than the Access Violation.

Just need to wait till the morning now to try it on a machine. (Finger crossed!!)

One thing about the Forum... Not a massive amount of input from others on many of my posts BUT by being able to post stuff on here I have worked through the problems, found a solution and posted it for others if they have the issues.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun , 2014 21:57 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Posts: 1573
Location: Brighouse
Make sure you have the correct RS232 lead. It should be a 25 to
9 way pin to pin.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Access Violation at address 0040A72B in module
PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun , 2014 17:14 pm 
Offline
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Posts: 314 Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Roland CAMM3 PNC3000 (For Sale)
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto
BINGO!!!! It was the control type being set to 0 rather than 20 by the software. Would never have found it if I hadn't spent time checking the old version to the new.

Really pleased to have them back up and running!!

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.138s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading