Novamill and Vr milling 2.31

Submit any comments, issues or requests relating to the use of VR Milling Version 5 and 2

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

bpmsl
CNC Expert
CNC Expert

Novamill and Vr milling 2.31

Post by bpmsl » Tue 17 Nov , 2009 0:19 am

OK stick with me on this as I'm new to CNC, I've just bought Greenwhich Universities 1999 Novamill, and ran it up on VR 2.9 which came with the machne dongle and all and the system homed perfectly and jog worked to move the bed in the expected directions. Never got the spindle turning as I havnt got that far in the manuals but all seemed great...

I then go on the downloads section to look for later software etc. I've downloaded VR 2.31 and when i connect to the mill after a couiple of failed attempts due to loose cable (via a usb to rs232 dongle from my laptop rather than the dedicated rs232 port on my desktop used with 2.9 previously) the application suggests that the mnt file (i think it was) on the pc is newer and i should upgrade the mill, which i did. There was a download to the machine which went ok.
Now comes the problem...

Now when i tried to home the z axis it ran down to the bed of the machie and drove itself down hard into the bed before i could hit the kill switch with lots of loud motor stalling... and now i cant jog the z axis away from the bed to clear things because it hasn't completed the home.

Having given up for the night I've now found the secret home location which i will try tommorow night to allow me to back the z axis off of the bed. But what i think is happenng is that the mill is traveling in the wrong direction as the y movement home moves the bed towards the pillar rather than away as in the Vertual machine...

Easy upgrader wont recognise the mill, but VR 2.31 does... I'm confused..

So the plan for tommorow night is drag my desktop back to the garage and try running the novamill with v 2.9 again, hope it