Denford Software & Machines

Denford Software & Machines

 
 

Denford Software & Machines

Welcome to the Denford CAD CAM CNC forum


Hint - Try the google search at the bottom of the page
It is currently Fri 21 Sep , 2018 0:48 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Wed 28 Feb , 2018 19:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue 16 Nov , 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 19 Hardware/Software: Viceroy ...
sneakym8 wrote:
The motor probably just needs new
bearings



Just seen this too! I'll pull it apart and have a look.

On a plus note the Z axis is fine it was just the Jib moving and jamming the z axis. As you say - the head falls down on its own without the gas spring :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar , 2018 23:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue 16 Nov , 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 19 Hardware/Software: Viceroy ...
sneakym8 wrote:
The motor probably just needs new
bearings



Had a look tonight - looks like the cap/cover for the encoder got pushed down a bit far and the noise was just the end of the servo shaft catching on the cover.

Hopefully I may get to fire her up over the weekend :)

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar , 2018 10:26 am 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
Thats all good news then .
Looks like it was an easy fix.
Has it still got the Bob Cambell
Break out board fitted ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar , 2018 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue 16 Nov , 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 19 Hardware/Software: Viceroy ...
sneakym8 wrote:
Thats all good news then .
Looks like it was an easy fix.
Has it still got the Bob Cambell
Break out board fitted ?



Yes that's still there. It looks exactly the same as it did in the pics you posted in your build thread on here Colin.

I posted some pics I took in that thread yesterday.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 12:40 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
Have you had any issues with the spindle making small movements when it is supposed to be idle?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 13:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue 16 Nov , 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 19 Hardware/Software: Viceroy ...
Nope but it has only been powered up for an hour yesterday...

As I say it all seemed to work okay. It doesn't move as fast as it did in your video but I think that maybe set-up with Mach.

Do you happen to have the settings you used in Mach?

I'm also trying to figure out the limit switches - the original ones are all in place (2 per axis) but they don't trip the machine.

There are 3 proximity switches (not sure of the correct term ) the do trip when the metal brackets move over them (y and z only the X is dangling loose). I'm assuming they are to be set as home sensors?

I need to set up some soft limits in Mach as I don't want to damage anything.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 18:38 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
Yes they are home switches . The dangling one is definatly not as it was . I will dig around see if i kept the settings . I think it was safely fast traversing at 5m/min
If it had a bit more voltage at the drives it would go a bit faster i think i had a 55v transformer and i think it would go to about 70v , (all this is from memory).there is current limiting resisters on the input of the


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 18:44 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
Cambell board this is to protect the 8v proximiters fom the 12v coming from the board. The guy that got it from me could not grasp that and thought i had done something really bad wiring the 8v proximiters to 12v so i thought i would explain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 18:46 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
Just thought i would add . The 8v proximiters are original denford and were already fitted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 21:40 pm 
Offline
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Tue 27 Feb , 2007 23:02 pm
Posts: 46
Location: northeast uk
i think have what you want but can't upload the file here
pm me your email and i will send it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Triac Z axis counter-balance
PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar , 2018 22:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue 16 Nov , 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 19 Hardware/Software: Viceroy ...
Just PM'd you Colin :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL
[ Time : 0.138s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]
 
Loading