VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilling

A forum for anything to do with QuickCAM 2D Design and LaserCAM 2D Design. Submit advice, examples, problems, feature requests etc..

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
User avatar
monttodd
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 01 Oct , 2007 22:05 pm
Location: Harlem, Montana, USA
Contact:

VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilling

Post by monttodd » Thu 11 Jun , 2015 4:22 am

I have 12.7mm Dia X 60 degree Vcarve cutter, I am using Ver. 2.1.0.121 of QuickCam2D Vcarve and ver. 5.61.0.670 of VRMilling. When I try to run a simulation in VR Milling or the 2D/3D Simulation, the tool does not show and I receive errors such as catastrophic error or exceeds limits. When I run the program usind a 3.2 ballend cutter, I get no errors. Any suggestions as to what is wrong? I am attaching a screen print of my tool file.
Attachments
Tool Capture.PNG
Screen Capture of tool setup
Tool Capture.PNG (90.88 KiB) Viewed 8557 times

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilli

Post by Steve » Mon 15 Jun , 2015 15:24 pm

Hi, Just seen your post as I was away last week.

The problem is related to the tool library and it seems it will not simulate any tool defined above number 8!!!!

Does the program run correctly but just will not simulate?

If you change your V cutter to be any tool from 1-8 it will simulate.

I have asked our software writer to check into this and we will probably have to post another version of VR Milling.

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilli

Post by Denford Admin » Thu 18 Jun , 2015 15:28 pm

Hi. There has been a change to VR Milling with a new release candidate to try please.

1. Stop any current Denford software.

2. Download the new installation from :

www.denfordata.com/downloads/VR Milling V5 CD-ROM.Candidate.zip

3. Unzip and install this installation. It should allow tool values greater than 8 in your gcode.

If this release candidate works then it will be released as the main installation.

User avatar
monttodd
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 01 Oct , 2007 22:05 pm
Location: Harlem, Montana, USA
Contact:

Re: VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilli

Post by monttodd » Mon 22 Jun , 2015 8:38 am

Thanks for the updates... I installed the new version. The simulation worked perfect, I had my V-carve tool set as tool # 10. Looks like this solved the problem.

Thanks Guys

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Re: VCarve tool does not display in 2D Simulation or VRmilli

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 22 Jun , 2015 11:02 am

Hi. Thank you for trying that. The candidate release has now been made the official download release.

Post Reply